Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 26

Thread: have had trouble with algae...

  1. Back To Top    #1
    Golddlocs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Beacon, NY
    Posts
    21

    have had trouble with algae...

    Split from post514986.html#p514986
    Please start your own thread when you have questions Butterfly


    Hello I am new to this forum and i have had trouble with algae in the past and i found this thread.

    This weekend I had algae and I shocked the pool and scrubbed pool and water cleared up levels were ok had grandkids play in the pool. the next day ,my water was cloudy so I tested with sticks and the ph was low so i added baking soda to raise ph still low I added ph up, the ph according to sticks my ph is ok but my water is still a little cloudy.

    Last night I ordered the tf-100 so I am waiting for test kit so I am afraid to add chemicals until I get good test results and it is also pouring rain here in NY and we are expecting as much as 2.5 inches so should I wait until rain stops and hopefully test kit will have arrived or should I put algaecide in the pool now.

    Also should I stop putting those stabilizing tablets in the floaty thing and stop using powdered shock just use plain bleach from walmart? I did purchase soda ash and borax after attending your pool school am I on the right track? Thanks for your help sorry post is so long.
    Beacon, NY installed June 2011 8000k gal 18x52 round vinyl AG 150 sf cartridge filter 1.5 hp proline pump, aquabot rover hybrid cleaning machine tf-100 test kit and aqua check test strips. Pool school.

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad zea3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    9,198

    Re: have had trouble with algae...

    Hi, welcome to TFP! Stop using the tablets in the floater, powdered shock, and do not add algaecide. The algaecide does little to clear up algae once it has begun. Stick with liquid bleach from now on. Go ahead and add a regular size jug of bleach once a day and keep the filter running until the test kit arrives. Once you have your test results post them here and we will help you decide what to do next.
    TFP Moderator
    Helpful links: TF Test Kits,TFP Pool School, PoolMath
    Vogue 21' round AG, Pentair 1 hp 2 speed pump, 36 sq ft DE filter, Hayward S180T 150# sand filter, Houston, Texas
    Love TFP? Become a
    TFP Supporter!

  3. Back To Top    #3
    Golddlocs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Beacon, NY
    Posts
    21

    Re: have had trouble with algae...

    Ok thank you
    Beacon, NY installed June 2011 8000k gal 18x52 round vinyl AG 150 sf cartridge filter 1.5 hp proline pump, aquabot rover hybrid cleaning machine tf-100 test kit and aqua check test strips. Pool school.

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Golddlocs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Beacon, NY
    Posts
    21

    Re: have had trouble with algae...

    Hi I received my tf-100 test kit today and here are my numbers i hope i did this correctly
    Fc= 2.85
    No cc
    TA=150
    Calcium yes calcium hardness=80
    CYA=100
    Ph= 7.6
    The cl and br test the water turned a reddish orange and i tested that twice.
    I have been adding a gallon of bleach everyday and running pool 24 hours a day and today i ran the robotic cleaner and the filter on the cleaner had a little green which was remainder of algea on pool floor i presume.The water is looking better close up just slightly clouded and i mean really slight. What should i do next? Thanks for your help
    And i have not been using rubber ducking tablet floater or powdered shock
    Beacon, NY installed June 2011 8000k gal 18x52 round vinyl AG 150 sf cartridge filter 1.5 hp proline pump, aquabot rover hybrid cleaning machine tf-100 test kit and aqua check test strips. Pool school.

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Richard320's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    San Dimas, CA (LA County)
    Posts
    18,768

    Re: have had trouble with algae...

    Quote Originally Posted by Golddlocs
    Hi I received my tf-100 test kit today and here are my numbers i hope i did this correctly
    Fc= 2.85
    No cc
    TA=150
    Calcium yes calcium hardness=80
    CYA=100
    Ph= 7.6
    The cl and br test the water turned a reddish orange and i tested that twice.
    I have been adding a gallon of bleach everyday and running pool 24 hours a day and today i ran the robotic cleaner and the filter on the cleaner had a little green which was remainder of algea on pool floor i presume.The water is looking better close up just slightly clouded and i mean really slight. What should i do next? Thanks for your help
    And i have not been using rubber ducking tablet floater or powdered shock
    If the OTO test turned orange, you're up in the 18 zone on FC. Maybe higher. That doesn't match the FAS-DPD (powder) test at all.

    You probably ought to repeat that FAS-DPD test. A refresher.

    [center:zm4c1apx][youtube:zm4c1apx]PHQG4tgQsFE[/youtube:zm4c1apx][/center:zm4c1apx]

    Actually, there are more tests on that youtube page, so you might want to retry the CYA test. After you take a reading, pour it back in the mixing bottle, give it another shake,, and try again. Do it several times, until you start getting several readings that match.
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.
    A pool is like a pet - you have to feed it every day, even the days you don't want to play with it!

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Golddlocs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Beacon, NY
    Posts
    21

    Re: have had trouble with algae...

    It didn't turn orange with the powder stuff that was with the liquid drops in the basic test i did all the tests in the
    kit.
    Beacon, NY installed June 2011 8000k gal 18x52 round vinyl AG 150 sf cartridge filter 1.5 hp proline pump, aquabot rover hybrid cleaning machine tf-100 test kit and aqua check test strips. Pool school.

  7. Back To Top    #7

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,077

    Re: have had trouble with algae...

    Ricahrd320 is suggesting a math error on your FAS/DPD chlorine test....I agree.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Golddlocs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Beacon, NY
    Posts
    21

    Re: have had trouble with algae...

    I just came from having water tested the results are as follows
    Tc=10
    Fc=10
    Ph=7.9
    Ta=130
    Calcium hardness=75
    Stabilizer=200
    Beacon, NY installed June 2011 8000k gal 18x52 round vinyl AG 150 sf cartridge filter 1.5 hp proline pump, aquabot rover hybrid cleaning machine tf-100 test kit and aqua check test strips. Pool school.

  9. Back To Top    #9
    Golddlocs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Beacon, NY
    Posts
    21

    Re: have had trouble with algae...

    What should i use to control algae now that it is gone i don't want to add more bleach, my chlorine levels are pretty high?
    Beacon, NY installed June 2011 8000k gal 18x52 round vinyl AG 150 sf cartridge filter 1.5 hp proline pump, aquabot rover hybrid cleaning machine tf-100 test kit and aqua check test strips. Pool school.

  10. Back To Top    #10
    Richard320's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    San Dimas, CA (LA County)
    Posts
    18,768

    Re: have had trouble with algae...

    Quote Originally Posted by Golddlocs
    What should i use to control algae now that it is gone i don't want to add more bleach, my chlorine levels are pretty high?
    The FC levels will go down over time. When they get to the target zone for your CYA, you will need to add more.

    How about some test results and some pictures?
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.
    A pool is like a pet - you have to feed it every day, even the days you don't want to play with it!

  11. Back To Top    #11

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,077

    Re: have had trouble with algae...

    If you have your own test kit, why did you go somewhere to have your water tested?
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  12. Back To Top    #12
    Golddlocs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Beacon, NY
    Posts
    21

    Re: have had trouble with algae...

    Because when i tested the chlorine with the basic kit that came with the tf-100 kit the chlorine level seemed extremly high and i wanted to confirm that it was extremly high. I then looked at the you tube video and those directions were confusing compared to the directions in the test kit. That test kit isnt as easy as I thought. i am sure itnisma matter of becoming proficient at it.
    Beacon, NY installed June 2011 8000k gal 18x52 round vinyl AG 150 sf cartridge filter 1.5 hp proline pump, aquabot rover hybrid cleaning machine tf-100 test kit and aqua check test strips. Pool school.

  13. Back To Top    #13
    Golddlocs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Beacon, NY
    Posts
    21

    Re: have had trouble with algae...

    Ok when i get home i will post pics and test again. the water looks great! I have been running my pump more and that seems to be helping. I went from 24 hours down to 18 hours a day. I was going to try 12 hours a day but i am away on vacation for 5 days and i did not want to come back to algae. Before i was only running it 8 hours and that could have been why i ran into the algae problem.
    Beacon, NY installed June 2011 8000k gal 18x52 round vinyl AG 150 sf cartridge filter 1.5 hp proline pump, aquabot rover hybrid cleaning machine tf-100 test kit and aqua check test strips. Pool school.

  14. Back To Top    #14

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,077

    Re: have had trouble with algae...

    Pump run time has almost nothing to do with algae. Chlorine kills and prevents algae. Pumps clean your pool.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  15. Back To Top    #15
    Golddlocs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Beacon, NY
    Posts
    21

    Re: have had trouble with algae...

    Really i just thought if water was not moving algae built up faster. But thats good to know i'll just keep up with the chlorine levels keep pool clean and i should be good the water looks great!
    Beacon, NY installed June 2011 8000k gal 18x52 round vinyl AG 150 sf cartridge filter 1.5 hp proline pump, aquabot rover hybrid cleaning machine tf-100 test kit and aqua check test strips. Pool school.

  16. Back To Top    #16
    Golddlocs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Beacon, NY
    Posts
    21

    Re: have had trouble with algae...

    Algae is back again arrrggh
    Here are my test results using test kit tf 100
    Fc=11
    Cc=1
    Tc=12
    Cya= 100
    Ph=7.8
    It seems like i am putting a lot of bleach in the pool to keep algae at bay. What chlorine level is too high? And why is algeacide bad?
    Beacon, NY installed June 2011 8000k gal 18x52 round vinyl AG 150 sf cartridge filter 1.5 hp proline pump, aquabot rover hybrid cleaning machine tf-100 test kit and aqua check test strips. Pool school.

  17. Back To Top    #17

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Herndon, VA
    Posts
    419

    Re: have had trouble with algae...

    The first thing you need to do is partially drain and refill your pool. With a CYA of 100, you need to get down to a CYA of 30 ideally.

    That means you need to drain 70% of your pool. Do that first, and then you'll have to shock to 12 instead of 39.

    pool-school/chlorine_cya_chart_shock
    8,000 gallon, in ground, fiberglass pool with a cartridge filter.

  18. Back To Top    #18
    Golddlocs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Beacon, NY
    Posts
    21

    Re: have had trouble with algae...

    Just to clarify the cya is preventing my chlorine from staying in the water. So with not enough chlorine the algae will continue to return? Once i drain the pool and fill it up add chlorine until the fc=39. Am i on the right track?
    Beacon, NY installed June 2011 8000k gal 18x52 round vinyl AG 150 sf cartridge filter 1.5 hp proline pump, aquabot rover hybrid cleaning machine tf-100 test kit and aqua check test strips. Pool school.

  19. Back To Top    #19

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Fallsburg, NY
    Posts
    258

    Re: have had trouble with algae...

    Once you drain and refill your pool you need to check CYA levels to determine shock levels. Different CYA levels have different FC and shock levels that need to be maintained. The problem with CYA is that even though it protects FC from the effects that would normally cause it to vanish from your pool very quickly under direct sun. That same protective effect prevents it from destroying what you need it to attack. So you need higher FC levels for the same benefit.

    In other words, CYA protects the Chlorine in the pool by binding to it. While it is bound, it isn't protecting your water. This is a constant ongoing chemical process, a fight, if you will, between protecting FC from the effects of the sun and making it available to destroy biologic organisms in the water. The more CYA you have, the more bleach you need to have in order to have enough FC to keep ahead of biological intrusions.
    8638 gallon 20'x52" Intex ultra frame round AG. 2650 gph Intex Sand Filter. Intex krystal Klear SWG. (newer model that includes copper ion generation) Hayward 1091LX skimmer, Kreepy Krauly lil shark. Taylor K-2006 w/speed stir and sample sizer. New this year, Intex PureSpa - dichlor-> bleach method for sanitizing.
    New pool, 16'x36' (approx 18000 gal) in ground pool, Haywood DE filter

  20. Back To Top    #20
    Golddlocs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Beacon, NY
    Posts
    21

    Re: have had trouble with algae...

    Also reading BBB for beginners it says "If you have a SWG or get extreme amounts of direct sunlight on the pool, adjust CYA to between 60 and 80. Otherwise adjust CYA to between 30 and 50"
    My pool is in the sun no trees any where so shouldn't i be in 60-80 range not 30
    Beacon, NY installed June 2011 8000k gal 18x52 round vinyl AG 150 sf cartridge filter 1.5 hp proline pump, aquabot rover hybrid cleaning machine tf-100 test kit and aqua check test strips. Pool school.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •