Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Adding salt

1. Back To Top    #1

Adding salt

So I am new to all this, so if I am off base please let me know. I would like to add salt to my pool for the added "feel". I do not have a SWG, so how is the best way to add it? Just dump SLOWLY and brush? Does the salt effect the pump and filter? Pool Calc says 350lbs to get 2000ppm, which I have read on here is a good number without a SWG. I have a t-100 and use BBB. Is there any chemical number I need to be at, like with borates, before adding? any advice good or bad would be helpful.

test last night...
    FC 6.6
    CC 0
    ph 7.8
    TA 110
    cya 60
    CH 190

brought the PH down to 7.2 and TA to 100
    IG 16x32 Grecian - Vinyl - Approx 18k gal - 1 HP Hayward Super Pump - Pentair Triton II TR-60 Sand Filter - Hayward ColorLogic Light - Hayward H250FD Heater

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Adding salt

Just dump it in. It does not impact any other level.

We just had a birthday party and I was dumping the 40 pound bags onto the kids swimming at the time ... I think some of the parents briefly freaked out

The kids loved playing with it ... often referred to a "Diamond Day" on the forum.

BTW, you can use solar salt for much cheaper than the "pool" salt.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

3. Back To Top    #3

Awesome! thanks much! going to add it this weekend. This might be a dumb question.... but is it safe to assume that my salt level is now Zero? I will buy a test kit, but I would like to add salt ASAP.