Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Does the BBB method save me money?

1. Back To Top    #1

Does the BBB method save me money?

I am new to the world of chlorine pools. I was drawn into the Baquacil products when I purchased my pool 8 years ago. I had decent results, however I spent $600+ last year in chemicals. My pool is above-ground, vinyl liner, 24' - round. I am using 3" chlorine tabs I purchased from the pool store (1 every 2-3 days), 1 bag of shock/week, and baking soda (as needed, when alkalinity is low). My water is sparkling clear and comfortable. However, after reading all the posts ... can I merely use bleach on a weekly basis and nothing else? I have looked over the articles on the section "pool school" but all the chemicals and names are a bit overwhelming.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Does the BBB method save me money?

Yes, liquid bleach can replace your 3" pucks and withut adding any additional CYA as with those. Maintain levels per pool school and stop all that so-called "shocking" on a weekly basis. Welcome. Read pool school at least twice!
    16x32x52" Steel Cornelius Miramar AGP Vinyl liner 13,100 gal. Buried 2 ft.
    2 Speed Hayward Power-Flo Matrix 85 g.p.m. 22" 250lb. sand filter hard plumbed
    Pool Rover Jr., Pool Blaster Max, Diver Dave TF100 Test Kit/Speed Stir
    Margaritaville Frozen Concoction Maker, Liqour Chiller, & Drink Mixer & Party Tub----Collect 'um all!

3. Back To Top    #3

In a word, YES! Most emphatically YES!

The highest "expense" you are likely to see AFTER converting your pool to BBB is if you ever have to shock your pool. There are many examples here of people who have never had to shock once they started the BBB method.

Re-read the pool school several times, that alone will help you to understand the simplicity that pool care should be.