Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: First time using test kit

  1. Back To Top    #1
    nate81's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    190

    First time using test kit

    I filled my pool from a well, so i didnt test for FC...i'm assuming there is none.
    I tested my pH and it was so low it didnt register....i'm assuming 6.x
    TA i got 20ppm
    CYA i'm gonna guess 0. The black dot never disappeared and I've yet to add anything to my pool, other than the 120lbs of salt last night.

    My pool has 5,000 gallons or so, (website says 5,061) with a SWG so i think my goal CYA is about 70...the pool calculator says to add 47oz by weight of stabilizer. It also says to add 49 weight ounces of baking soda...bu to raise my ph its saying to add 4,275oz of borax??? first pool here...but 267 lbs of borax seems a bit much....help?


    wait...i put pH as 0....but its not 0...but i cant read it with my kit...do i just assume 6.x and add a single pound of borax?
    Intex 16'x48" Ultra Frame
    Intex 2,650-Gallon Sand Filter Pump
    Intex Krystal Clear Saltwater Filtration System
    Taylor K-2006

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Richard320's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    San Dimas, CA (LA County)
    Posts
    18,768

    Re: First time using test kit

    Quote Originally Posted by nate81
    I filled my pool from a well, so i didnt test for FC...i'm assuming there is none.
    I tested my pH and it was so low it didnt register....i'm assuming 6.x
    TA i got 20ppm
    CYA i'm gonna guess 0. The black dot never disappeared and I've yet to add anything to my pool, other than the 120lbs of salt last night.

    My pool has 5,000 gallons or so, (website says 5,061) with a SWG so i think my goal CYA is about 70...the pool calculator says to add 47oz by weight of stabilizer. It also says to add 49 weight ounces of baking soda...bu to raise my ph its saying to add 4,275oz of borax??? first pool here...but 267 lbs of borax seems a bit much....help?


    wait...i put pH as 0....but its not 0...but i cant read it with my kit...do i just assume 6.x and add a single pound of borax?
    Fix the TA first - aim for about 60 - and give it an hour or so to mix well, then retest pH. If you're still below the scale, just enter 6.8 and dose accordingly with borax. Give that an hour or so to mix well, then test it again. Repeat until pH is about 7.5.

    You will have no CYA unless you put it there. It's not a naturally occurring thing.

    You also need to put bleach in before it turns green. Once it's balanced and stable, then worry about salt and turning on the SWG.
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.
    A pool is like a pet - you have to feed it every day, even the days you don't want to play with it!

  3. Back To Top    #3
    nate81's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    190

    Re: First time using test kit

    Quote Originally Posted by Richard320

    You will have no CYA unless you put it there. It's not a naturally occurring thing.
    So on the pool calculator, just enter CYA as zero and my goal is about 70 and follow that? 47oz of stabilizer for my 5,000 gallons of water?

    Also, is it same to assume that the FC is 0 since i've added nothing to my water yet?
    Intex 16'x48" Ultra Frame
    Intex 2,650-Gallon Sand Filter Pump
    Intex Krystal Clear Saltwater Filtration System
    Taylor K-2006

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Richard320's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    San Dimas, CA (LA County)
    Posts
    18,768

    Re: First time using test kit

    Quote Originally Posted by nate81
    Quote Originally Posted by Richard320

    You will have no CYA unless you put it there. It's not a naturally occurring thing.
    So on the pool calculator, just enter CYA as zero and my goal is about 70 and follow that? 47oz of stabilizer for my 5,000 gallons of water?
    If that's what it says!

    We advocate 1) filling an old sock or nylon with the granules and suspending it in front of a return
    2) Aim a little low in case your pool isn't as big as they say it is. It's easy to add more later, but only goes away with draining.
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.
    A pool is like a pet - you have to feed it every day, even the days you don't want to play with it!

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Long Beach, CA
    Posts
    2,669

    Re: First time using test kit

    Quote Originally Posted by nate81
    Quote Originally Posted by Richard320

    You will have no CYA unless you put it there. It's not a naturally occurring thing.
    So on the pool calculator, just enter CYA as zero and my goal is about 70 and follow that? 47oz of stabilizer for my 5,000 gallons of water?

    Also, is it same to assume that the FC is 0 since i've added nothing to my water yet?
    You are using the calculator correctly.

    Your fill water should be 0 FC since it is coming from a well.
    16k gal plaster with raised spa, Jandy DEV60 filter, 2 HP 2-speed SHPF Jandy Stealth pump
    Hayward Aqua Rite T-15 SWCG, Jandy LXi 400k BTU NG heater, 350 sq.ft. of Sun Star solar panels, TF-100 Test Kit, Dolphin s300i Cleaner
    Test Kits . Pool Math . Chlorine/CYA Chart . The SLAM Process

  6. Back To Top    #6
    nate81's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    190

    Re: First time using test kit

    Thanks Richard and Ping

    one more question, do i need to get shock first or get pH correct, and then shock?
    Intex 16'x48" Ultra Frame
    Intex 2,650-Gallon Sand Filter Pump
    Intex Krystal Clear Saltwater Filtration System
    Taylor K-2006

  7. Back To Top    #7

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,077

    Re: First time using test kit

    Get your pH into the 7's first. Then don't "get shock" but initiate the "shock process". It's VERY different

    read "How to Shock Your Pool" up in Pool School
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  8. Back To Top    #8
    nate81's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    190

    Re: First time using test kit

    Quote Originally Posted by duraleigh
    Get your pH into the 7's first. Then don't "get shock" but initiate the "shock process". It's VERY different

    read "How to Shock Your Pool" up in Pool School

    typo I was going to type get the bleach in the pool. I'm going to use 2 gallons of bleach (from calculator) after I get my ph up...but do i need to be checking my CF after I raise my ph or will there be no affect?
    Intex 16'x48" Ultra Frame
    Intex 2,650-Gallon Sand Filter Pump
    Intex Krystal Clear Saltwater Filtration System
    Taylor K-2006

  9. Back To Top    #9
    Richard320's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    San Dimas, CA (LA County)
    Posts
    18,768

    Re: First time using test kit

    Quote Originally Posted by nate81
    Quote Originally Posted by duraleigh
    Get your pH into the 7's first. Then don't "get shock" but initiate the "shock process". It's VERY different

    read "How to Shock Your Pool" up in Pool School

    typo I was going to type get the bleach in the pool. I'm going to use 2 gallons of bleach (from calculator) after I get my ph up...but do i need to be checking my CF after I raise my ph or will there be no affect?
    pH doesn't change FC. High FC can mess up pH test. That's why we say fix pH first.
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.
    A pool is like a pet - you have to feed it every day, even the days you don't want to play with it!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •