Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Why do I need a separate Control Center

1. Back To Top    #1

Why do I need a separate Control Center

Hey, everyone! I think this is my first post here at TFP, but I've been lurking for quite some time, even before I registered.

I'm not a pool rookie, but I'm a pool automation rookie. I have a 10K gal AGP.

What I want to do is add a Jandy 125K heater this year, SWG NEXT YEAR, and automation this year.

For the automation, it appears that this is what I need:
    1. Jandy RS-P4 AquaLink RS OneTouch
    2. Jandy 6613AP PureLink Standard Power Center
    3. Jandy 6891 AquaLink RS All Button wired panel

Here's my question:
    Why in the heck do I need #3? Aren't the controls on #1? I feel like I'm being forced to buy a $350 part that I don't want. My pool is convenient. I don't mind walking to the OneTouch to change settings/turn things on/off.

None of the pictures of the RS-P4 online are great, so it is difficult to read what is actually done there.

Do I really need the wired panel?

Larry
    10k Johnny Weissmuller AGP, Waterway 2HP 2-speed pump & sand filter
    On order/me attempting install: Jandy LRZ125EN heater, Jandy sub panel, Jandy RS-P4 OneTouch, iAqualink

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Why do I need a separate Control Center

Do you have an iPhone or Android phone? If so I recommend the iAqualink. I got this for my AGP and love it! See me signature for some details. They are also discounting this as a kit, and it can be found online for about $600 for everything you need for a single heater system.

Dino
    Premier (Esther Williams) 24' x 52" Round AGP (13,500 gl.), Hayward 24" Pro-Series S244T Sand Filter, 1.5 HP Hayward Super Pump, AquaRite SWG, AquaComfort ACT-1100 Heat Pump, Jandy/Zodiac iAqualink Automation System with iPhone App, Aquabot Pool Rover S2-40
    My New Pool

3. Back To Top    #3