Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Hello - New to the Forum

1. Back To Top    #1

Hello - New to the Forum

Hi,

Just saying Hello. First thing I did last week when I joined was to Call Meg and Dave and TFTestKits and get a TF-100. Dave was very helpful and helped me go from "Hey I just dumped 10,500 gallons into my pool" to now I am an ametuer water chemist! The water went from clear (first day) to slimy to me adding Bleach, and waking up the a very green pool. Working with the PH and the Chrlorine only, and cleaning the pool, we know have Crystal clear water.

So, I just got the TFKit today. Ran the tests, and the CYA test, I almost overflowed the tube looking at the black dot, becuase I could see it all the way up to 20. So what does that mean? Good? Bad?

I am in Houston, TX and was worried about the Intex, but it seems like the best 700 bucks I have spent. I get worn out in the yard, just jump in the pool.

CL = 2.5
    PH = 7.5
    CYA = ~20?

We are really looking for a good vacuum for the pool. I hear I might want to swap my pump though? Lastly, looking at my picture, I am trying to get rid of the greeen ring around the pool - Any ideas?

[attachment=0:2mvf6rq0]pool (Medium).jpg[/attachment:2mvf6rq0]

Talk to you guys soon!

Jon
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Vinyl Above Ground (AG) Intex 22' X 52" Ultra Frame Swimming Pool, 10,500 gal, Pump: Intek Model 633T Pump, B Type Cartridge Filter, Intek Skimmer Add-on (nice!), TF-100 TFTestKit

Born and raised in the Panama Canal Zone by Luck, living in Texas by the Grace of God.

2. Back To Top    #2

In the Industry

Re: Hello - New to the Forum

Hi, Jon,

You don't have any CYA in your pool. As a result you will consume a LOT of chlorine.

Add enough CYA to bring your pool up to about 40 ppm and you should be good to go.

Test TA and CH when you get a chance....no hurry

Your water looks good!
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter