Pool chems out of control - need help!

Jun 2, 2010
Fort Worth, TX
I'm so mad at myself right now :grrrr: . Somehow my pool chems got out of whack big time. I've been caring for this pool for 8 years and only 1 other time did it get this bad. I don't know how this happened but I have to focus on fixing it. Issue started long before yesterday but here is some background:

Yesterday I came home. The pool pump had not run all day due to the electricity going out due to a rain storm the night before. My pool was green green green. Without testing the water I dumped 1 shock bag and 1 gallon of MA in it. Called hubby and asked him to pick up algaecide on his way home. When he got home I dumped 3/4 of a bottle of algaecide in the pool. Water was already looking better. Pump ran all night. Woke up. Water crystal clear and beautiful. I had to take the dog to the vet. Got home and sat down and did the chems. Freaking out now.

There is no FC at all. And somehow the salt is at 4600.

As you know Aquarite shuts down at appx ~3800-4000. Here is mistake #1, that I know of, obviously there are many others. 2 weeks ago I tested the salt & it was 4000. Aquarite obviously is not working at this point. I said, well, all winter long the salt kept going down without us even using the pool so I'll give it a week or 2 and re-check the salt and it will be down like it always is & Aquarite will be working again (I know what you're thinking, no I'm not blond, I came up with that flawed logic all by brown-haired self :oops: ) Somehow it is UP not down.

Obviously we have to drain water out of the pool to resolve the salt issue. But the FC? I need help determining how much bleach to put in. Pool Calculator says 1.25 of 6% bleach but that doesn't seem like enough. The last major pool drama involving FC we put in about 10 bottles of bleach. What am I missing in my calc?

I didn't bother with pH and TA because of the FC and obvious need to drain water out of pool.

Thoughts and suggestions?