Hi! I am also new to TFP

danea

Jun 7, 2013
Hi! I am also new to TFP

Pool is 20K, sand, IG, vinyl, fiberglass. I live in New Jersey. Pool has alittle algae on walls and cloudy.

readings FC 16, PH .6, CC0 and CYA 80. I plan on adding more bleach and water to increase my FC and lower my CYA. Should I add some baking soda and turn off my automatic chloridator?

:wave: Welcome to TFP!!! :wave:

I split your post into your own thread.

Please add your pool details and location as described HERE as it will help us help you.

I do not understand your test results ... please try again as numbers appear to be missing.
Baking soda raises TA, not pH as much if that is what you are trying to do:
pool-school/pool_water_chemistry

For example ... a pH of .6 makes no sense.

What test kit do you have? Can you also post TA?

By the by, your CYA is roughly double the level we would recommend and if the test result is to be trusted, you likely would be best served to replace 40-50% of the water to get that in check before you go through the Shocking Your Pool PROCESS

Hi danae's neighbor we tested with a TF100 kit. Ph is less than 6.7. CYA is 80 down from 100 the other day. She replaced a good bit of water, I thought it was low enough that we could work with it. As the pool is in full sun all day. She knows it is still high and we can work on lowering it as the season progresses but I thought it was low enough for right now as long as she doesn't add any more through pucks etc.

According to the calculator she should keep FCC at 21 with cya of 80. They are using 12% chlorine. And raise PH with Borax. Is this correct?

Ah ... they are lucky to have a neighbor like you ;)

Did you test the TA? You will want to raise the pH with borax to around 7.2 and then start the shock process. For a CYA of 80ppm, the Pool School table puts the shock level at 31ppm, poolcalculator puts it at 21ppm. Either way is fine.

Enjoying this content?

Support TFP with a donation.

Give Support