Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Sudden Cloudy Water

1. Back To Top    #1

Sudden Cloudy Water

I was testing my new PVC fountain to see if I could cool the water overnight and came home to a cloudy pool. Tested my water and got this:
    FC 2
    Ph 7.5
    CC 0
    TA 90
    CYA 70

I added chlorine to get to FC 8. Any ideas what happened? Filter issue maybe? Thought I would ask before taking the filter apart
    14,000 gallon IG plaster pool, Cartridge Filter

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Sudden Cloudy Water

I'm by no means a pro, but it sounds like the start of an algae bloom. FC looks to be a bit low for that CYA level. Let's see what the real pros have to say.
    16,000 IG, SWG, 175 sq. ft. cartridge, 1.5 hp pump, vinyl, Charlotte NC
    TF-100, Pool School, Pool-Calc

3. Back To Top    #3

Quote Originally Posted by thabeezer
    FC 2
    Ph 7.5
    CC 0
    TA 90
    CYA 70
    The root cause for the cloudy pool is likely not your filter but the low FC of 2 for a CYA of 70. The cloudiness you are seeing is very likely algae assembling in preparation for a blooming party. At a CYA of 70, you want to keep FC between 5 and 10 ppm at all times. Would suggest doing a partial drain & refill of about 30-40% to get your CYA down to between 40 -50 ppm. This will require less chlorine for shocking and ongoing maintenance. After refilling, then run a series of tests to determine your new CYA and whether you need to go through the Shock Process (likely).
    Gold Supporter, TFP Lifetime Supporter, 26,680 gal Plaster IGP 3.5 - 10' depth / Attached Waterfall Spa, Manually Chlorinated, Triton Sand Filter, 1.5 HP * 1.1 SF = 1.65 SFHP 1-speed Pentair WhisperFlo WF-26 Pump, 400K BTU NG Teledyne Laars Series One Heater, Polaris 360, Test Kit Comparison, Chlorine/CYA Chart, SLAMing Your Pool, OCLT
    A good test kit is an investment, not an expense.

4. Back To Top    #4