Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: pentair intelichlor "COM LINK ERROR"

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Sarnia, Ontario Canada
    Posts
    162

    pentair intelichlor "COM LINK ERROR"

    ok, so the obvious cause of this is the cable is damaged or not fully plugged in. i have disconnected and reconnected several times and still get this error.

    I opened the pool a few days ago with the dummy cell in place during the initial clean up. once the water was above 60 deg, i installed the cell which gave me a low salt indication (which i expected). over the course of the day, i gradually added 8 40lb bags of salt. the easytouch panel under the diagnostic menu told me i went from 1650ppm to 2650ppm. a few hours after the last 2 bags were added i came back to this error, and have had it since.

    so i am tempted to muck around with the pins...ie bend them slightly, or put an electronics type cleaner on them. and perhaps reinstall the dummy cell and see if i can check the cord connections in the cell.

    i have been in contact with Pentair. They are currently reviewing. I purchased the easytouch with intelichlor, intelibrites, inteliflo and cartridge filter in july 2011 and the swg went into service in may of 2012. (build date is 30/11/11). Since i bought 3 or more pieces at once, they may warranty it, but i'm curious if anyone has run into this and if there is a possible fix that could save the cell.

    thanks in advance
    20x47' double roman vinyl liner pool. Pentair EasyTouch 8PSC-IC40, 011018 Pentair IntelliFlo, Pentair Clean & Clear Plus Filter CCP420, Pentair 120V IntelliBrite LED, Cleardeck indeck solar reel, 530 sq' solar system Polaris 9300xi robot, Interfab Turbotwister slide, S.R. Smith T7 diving board, deck jets vinyl-liner-pool-build-in-ontario-canada-new-pictures-t30213.html

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Denton, TX
    Posts
    5,061

    Re: pentair intelichlor "COM LINK ERROR"

    Welcome to TFP!

    Sit tight and someone with relevant experience will be by to help you.

  3. Back To Top    #3

    In the Industry

    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    82

    Re: pentair intelichlor "COM LINK ERROR"

    could be the cell or the board in the easytouch, hard to say which.

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Metro St. Louis
    Posts
    93

    Re: pentair intelichlor "COM LINK ERROR"

    This is probably a long shot...but I have a new pool and got the same thing. Turned out I was getting that error when the IC was not actively on. Meaning my pump was running for some water features...but the IC does not "turn on" (green lights) during that time...so it had com error. I would have thought the IC would be able to communicate even if it was not currently activated. Again, probably not your issue...but wanted to mention it, as it had me confused for awhile.
    Paul
    Sterling Steel IGP lagoon 21' x 35' w/6' deep end, Pentair 5g LED lights (x2), Pentair Landscape LED light, Pentiar IntelliFlo VS pump, Pentair 420 Cartridge filter, Pentair IC20, 4 gas Tiki Torches, LoopLoc Ultra Loc II, Deck Jets(x3), Raised Planter Bed with 3 Pentair bronze sheer decents, AquaBot Breeze 4WD, Pentair Legend II

  5. Back To Top    #5

    In the Industry

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Ashford, CT
    Posts
    346

    Re: pentair intelichlor "COM LINK ERROR"

    Have you powered off your circuit breakers and reset the control panel.

    Also try under the Easytouch Menu to turn ON and OFF the SWG to see if it recognizes the cell. Just make sure when you are pluging and unplugging the cell to the power center, the power is OFF.
    25k 20x40 Gunite w/ integrated Spa & Caribbean Blue Plaster, Curved Bluestone Coping, Deck Jets
    Pentair Easy Touch/Wireless, Sta-Rite Intellipro SRVS Pump, Intellibrite Lights, & Pentair IC40 Cell, Sta-Rite 450sf Cartridge filter
    Heated from Central Boiler - Outdoor Wood Furnace & Triangle Tube Max Heat Exchanger
    ColorQ Pro
    TF-100

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Sarnia, Ontario Canada
    Posts
    162

    Re: pentair intelichlor "COM LINK ERROR"

    Thanks for the responses.

    Yes, I have turned breaker off, and on and disconnected the unit (with breaker off). so far nothing.

    Pentair is coming good on replacing the unit (I agreed to pay shipping...), so that is at least a positive. dealing with them was fairly painless other than waiting on hold for approx. 15 min....but it was a Monday morning call.

    update:
    I wandered out and confirmed that it still didn't "work". I did a reset on the easytouch as well.

    The cell itself does light up, so it is getting power. I have green lights for flow and salt, but not on power...(obviously). my belief was that the unit, once plugged into the easytouch would not operate if it did not communicate. on a whim, I slid the plastic cover of the swg cell up to expose the buttons and I hit the + button. to my surprise, I was able to activate the cell! the power light came on and I can set it from 20 to 100%. obviously, one of the features of buying the swg with the easytouch combo is finer control of the percentage the swg is powered on (1 percent increments, I believe), however, at this point, i'll take the rough control in 20 percent increments! the replacement cell is on its way to me, but It looks like my cell is functioning, just not communicating with or controlled by the control panel. wish I figured this out before I rushed out to buy chlorine tablets! but oh well.
    20x47' double roman vinyl liner pool. Pentair EasyTouch 8PSC-IC40, 011018 Pentair IntelliFlo, Pentair Clean & Clear Plus Filter CCP420, Pentair 120V IntelliBrite LED, Cleardeck indeck solar reel, 530 sq' solar system Polaris 9300xi robot, Interfab Turbotwister slide, S.R. Smith T7 diving board, deck jets vinyl-liner-pool-build-in-ontario-canada-new-pictures-t30213.html

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •