new to pool school

Bebe

May 20, 2013
Hello All!
I have a 28' round above ground pool, 17,000 gal. sand filter. Just had a new liner installed and 3 truckloads of water. Water is clear but algae on bottom (not much). Added 6 gal of liquid chlorine, vacummed, backwashed still there. I am new to the BBB method and new taking care of the pool and am feeling overwhelmed. Bought test kit TF 100. Do I test everything at this point? MY CYA is non existent. I would really appreciate any help. thanks.

Use the Pool Calculator to figure out how much CYA to add to get to your recommended CYA target (30 to 40). If using powdered CYA, add it to a cotton sock and hang it in front of the return. After a few hours, massage it a bit. Do so periodically until it has all seeped out in clouds, dissolved. Once it is out of the sock and in your water, assume it is working and adjust your FC accordingly. The CYA will not show on a test for a week or so, but dose your chlorine as though it is there.

6 gallons of chlorine sounds like a ton - what was your target FC, and did you use the Pool Calculator to guide you to 6 gallons?

A full set of test results will help (as stated above, no need to test CYA, but tell us what you used as your CYA target).

Also, add your pool specs to your signature so that as you post people can readily see what you have and won't have to keep scrolling up to your initial post to see your specs. Welcome, and don't worry - we were all where you are: overwhelmed. You'll be a pro in no time!

I tested Chlorine this afternoon and my water turned very pink - went to next step to add drops so water turned clear again (I'm sorry I'm at work and don't know the names yet) anyway, I got to 30 drops and the water is still pink. Should I have kept going? I'll try again when I get home later today.

Did you use 10ml or 25ml of water? If 10ml, like we recommend, then 30 drops would have been a FC of 15ppm ... which may not be that high depending on what you have added.