TroubleFreePat

LifeTime Supporter
Jun 5, 2013
Philadelphia, PA
Surface
Fiberglass
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
So after wanting a pool forever, we finally did it! We're jumping in the deep end, as they say. Pool company is sending their guy out to do the orientation this morning, but he said he only needs me for 15 minutes, so I'm expecting no real value there. Never cared for a pool before, so I'm a newb.

I purchased a test kit (ColorQ 7) and it just arrived yesterday. Ran my first test last night (Results below). I want to verify my next steps are accurate in what I'm thinking after reading through some other posts.

First, I'm running my pump for 6 hours in the morning. Looks like I need to move this to later in the day as the sun is on the pool all afternoon; as such, I assume this is chewing up our chlorine. I used test strips (The few they gave me) early on and was seeing OK chlorine levels after our pump and SWG ran. By evening, I'm seeing no chlorine. So, I'm going to move the pump timer to 11am-5pm to start. It's a variable speed pump and I'm estimating I'm running it at 40GPM based on a calculator I found online that takes my pump RPM and wattage and gives me a close GPM.

Next I need to get CYA up. My issue here is I'm not sure how much water is in the pool. My pool people told me just under 10k gallons. But I'm finding third-party brochures and other posters with the Riviera 30 saying 14,300 gallons (This is also what Leisure Pools has on their website for specs)? Here's what I do know - the tanker that half filled my pool says I paid for 5500 gallons (Plus or minus, right?) I then filled the pool up after construction with the hose. I checked the water meter before and after the fill and I used approximately 2840 gallons (And that's high I'm sure due to any baths, toilets, etc.) So the best I'm seeing is 8-9k gallons. The water level is about 3/4 of the way to the top of the skimmer.