Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Anyone use a water level to install their pool?

  1. Back To Top    #1
    Casey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    SW PA
    Posts
    10,157

    Anyone use a water level to install their pool?

    I think I'm going to do this!!!

    http://youtu.be/nAcT_1T25LM
    I'd bet you my bikini you'll never get TFP water from a pool store!

    24' Sharkline Venture De Filter

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Jules's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Kemp, Tx
    Posts
    111

    Re: Anyone use a water level to install their pool?

    We used one last year, it worked great, our ground was just too hard for us to finish the site. We added a few drops of food coloring to ours, makes it easier to see the water level.
    -Julie
    25,600gal/33' x 52" Sharkline Heritage, Pentair Clean & Clear 150sq ft filter, 1.5hp dual speed Optiflo pump, TF-100 test kit, BBB method, Pool Rover S2-40

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Hudsonville, MI
    Posts
    29

    Re: Anyone use a water level to install their pool?

    The excavator is coming to dig my pool on June 14. One of my projects before he comes is to make a water level! I am going to make a couple of 5' clear tubes that will screw on to my 50' garden hose. This will give me a 5/8" diameter tube and the level should stabilize more quickly. I am going to use wooden yard sticks, stapled to a 2x4 instead of marking the 2x4. I will use zip ties, through drilled holes, to attach my clear tube to my 2x4. This setup should be plenty accurate for leveling a pool.
    18 x 34 Doughboy AGP
    Hayward sand filter(need to look up the model #)
    1 HP Hayward pump(need to find the model on that too!)

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Mod Squad JohnT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    SW Indiana
    Posts
    9,090

    Re: Anyone use a water level to install their pool?

    Rent a laser level. Much, much, much easier to use.
    TFP Moderator
    20K Gallon 20X36 Vinyl Inground
    Hayward S244T Sand Filter with 1HP Whisperflo Pump. Liquidator C-201 and Solar Heat

  5. Back To Top    #5
    cramar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Sault Ontario
    Posts
    1,143

    Re: Anyone use a water level to install their pool?

    2x6 with a 4' level taped to it is also very easy.
    20' X 54" Sharkline Matrix Resin AGP, 9400 Gallons, Sta-Rite 1 HP Dynamo Pump, 150 lb Pentair Sand Filter, Gorilla Pad,
    Foam Cove, Taylor K-2006 kit, BBB method, 8'X20' Fafco Sunsaver Hard Plumb, DIY Fountain, Margarittaville Fiji


    My Build: one-man-one-pool-and-one-deck-agp-pics-t37172.html
    My Build 'To-Do' List for other DIY'ers: my-pool-build-list-t40249.html?hilit=list

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Hudsonville, MI
    Posts
    29

    Re: Anyone use a water level to install their pool?

    John T...I'm curious as to what is difficult about a water level. I haven't actually used one, but it seemed considerably cheaper to make one than to rent a laser for $75/day. I'm on a pretty tight budget here.....
    18 x 34 Doughboy AGP
    Hayward sand filter(need to look up the model #)
    1 HP Hayward pump(need to find the model on that too!)

  7. Back To Top    #7
    Casey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    SW PA
    Posts
    10,157

    Re: Anyone use a water level to install their pool?

    Quote Originally Posted by jer7440
    John T...I'm curious as to what is difficult about a water level. I haven't actually used one, but it seemed considerably cheaper to make one than to rent a laser for $75/day. I'm on a pretty tight budget here.....
    Me too! I have everything except the clear hose!
    I'd bet you my bikini you'll never get TFP water from a pool store!

    24' Sharkline Venture De Filter

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Mod Squad JohnT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    SW Indiana
    Posts
    9,090

    Re: Anyone use a water level to install their pool?

    Quote Originally Posted by jer7440
    John T...I'm curious as to what is difficult about a water level. I haven't actually used one, but it seemed considerably cheaper to make one than to rent a laser for $75/day. I'm on a pretty tight budget here.....
    It's not difficult, but the laser is extremely easy to use.
    TFP Moderator
    20K Gallon 20X36 Vinyl Inground
    Hayward S244T Sand Filter with 1HP Whisperflo Pump. Liquidator C-201 and Solar Heat

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Houma, LA
    Posts
    71

    Re: Anyone use a water level to install their pool?

    I used one. Make sure that you check and double check your water in the hose everytime you move the hose. If you raise the loose end or lower it, the water will come out of the other end.
    It's fairly simple.
    Sharkline 18'X40' Matrix 54 AGP, Sta-Rite T-210WF Hi-Rate Sand Filter, Sta-Rite 1.5HP JWPAS5F-2A4, Hayward AquaRite SWCG w/T-Cell 15 TurboCell, Confer Plastics STEP-1 Easy Access Above-Ground Pool Steps, TF-100 Test Kit

  10. Back To Top    #10
    msgtdan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    SW MO
    Posts
    653

    Re: Anyone use a water level to install their pool?

    I used three methods, a lazer to set the pavers, a 2x4 & level to level the ground in arcs off the pavers, and because I dug out for a partial burial and a deep center, I filled the hole with water and watch for high spots. I then siphoned off the water and let it dry for a couple of days. I'm within a 1/4" all the way around.
    Dan D
    Used 2003 Aqua Leader 27'x52", 17,800 w/10" hopper, SwimPro SW256T 250# sand filter, Hayward PowerFlo LX pump 1hp impellor, Emerson 1 1/2 hp motor, setup Aug 2012 Summer 2011 used Summer Escapes Ring pool 14' x 42", Intex 1600gph sand filter, HTH 6 way test kitTF-100 w/stirrer, Well water @ FC=0, PH=7.2, TA=290, CH=320

  11. Back To Top    #11
    joshuaberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Harker Heights, Texas
    Posts
    131

    Re: Anyone use a water level to install their pool?

    I made a water level and it worked like a charm. What a great tool.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    22'x52" Intex 10,472 gal. w/ 2650 Sand Filter, using Taylor K2006 Kit. BBB

    My Build: http://www.troublefreepool.com/threa...x)-Will-update

  12. Back To Top    #12
    kne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    92

    Re: Anyone use a water level to install their pool?

    Quote Originally Posted by joshuaberman View Post
    I made a water level and it worked like a charm. What a great tool.
    I know this is an old thread, but what size tube & length did you use?
    18' x 48" Intex ultra frame
    Standard cartridge filter and SWG that came with the pool
    I started off with a Taylor test kit, but my refills are coming from TFT so I am not sure what kit you would say I have.
    Stir thingy - Check

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    246

    Re: Anyone use a water level to install their pool?

    Here is mine: regular garden hose, two jacks and graded tubes. Extremely cheap and easy to use. Leveled all my pavers single handed within 1/4 inch.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Intex Ultra Frame 24'x12'x52" (732cm x 366cm) rectangular pool
    Intex SF80220RC (1600 GPH) pump/sandfilter
    Intex SF10220 (1050 GPH) pump/sandfilter driving the
    Intex Automatic Pool Cleaner
    Intex 8220 ECO SWG, Brilix XHP100 9kW heatpump

  14. Back To Top    #14
    joshuaberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Harker Heights, Texas
    Posts
    131

    Re: Anyone use a water level to install their pool?

    Quote Originally Posted by kne View Post
    I know this is an old thread, but what size tube & length did you use?
    To be honest, I don't recall what size tubing I used. I just went with something I could find readily and would be able to see clearly. I also added food coloring to the water to make it more visible. Nailed a few yard sticks to 2x4s and stapled the tubing to it at the same heights. Voila! Too easy.... hope this helps, sorry for the delay in respinse.

    22'x52" Intex 10,472 gal. w/ 2650 Sand Filter, using Taylor K2006 Kit. BBB

    My Build: http://www.troublefreepool.com/threa...x)-Will-update

  15. Back To Top    #15
    kne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    92

    Re: Anyone use a water level to install their pool?

    Quote Originally Posted by joshuaberman View Post
    To be honest, I don't recall what size tubing I used. I just went with something I could find readily and would be able to see clearly. I also added food coloring to the water to make it more visible. Nailed a few yard sticks to 2x4s and stapled the tubing to it at the same heights. Voila! Too easy.... hope this helps, sorry for the delay in respinse.

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G928A using Tapatalk
    NP about the delay, coincidently I just finally bought the tubing and yardsticks tonight, came home and saw your post. The lowest point for me is an outside edge so I think I'm going to stake one end down level to the ground then have the other end to move around to level. Digging starts tomorrow, depending on weather.

    Your build post is my guideline, love your setup, if all goes well with the leveling and pool filling, I'm going to try and talk my way into a deck this summer.

    18' x 48" Intex ultra frame
    Standard cartridge filter and SWG that came with the pool
    I started off with a Taylor test kit, but my refills are coming from TFT so I am not sure what kit you would say I have.
    Stir thingy - Check

  16. Back To Top    #16
    Casey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    SW PA
    Posts
    10,157

    Re: Anyone use a water level to install their pool?

    Good luck kne! Post pics too.
    I'd bet you my bikini you'll never get TFP water from a pool store!

    24' Sharkline Venture De Filter

  17. Back To Top    #17
    joshuaberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Harker Heights, Texas
    Posts
    131

    Re: Anyone use a water level to install their pool?

    Quote Originally Posted by kne View Post
    NP about the delay, coincidently I just finally bought the tubing and yardsticks tonight, came home and saw your post. The lowest point for me is an outside edge so I think I'm going to stake one end down level to the ground then have the other end to move around to level. Digging starts tomorrow, depending on weather.

    Your build post is my guideline, love your setup, if all goes well with the leveling and pool filling, I'm going to try and talk my way into a deck this summer.

    Sent from my SM-G925V using Tapatalk
    That's awesome! Glad my thread was useful. Good luck on your project! A lot of work, but very rewarding.

    22'x52" Intex 10,472 gal. w/ 2650 Sand Filter, using Taylor K2006 Kit. BBB

    My Build: http://www.troublefreepool.com/threa...x)-Will-update

  18. Back To Top    #18

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Winfield, KS
    Posts
    45

    Re: Anyone use a water level to install their pool?

    I did the water jug method since I was working by myself most of the time. It worked very well. I think I used 1/2" tubing on mine.
    http://i435.photobucket.com/albums/q.../IMG_09581.jpg
    Round 18' Sharkline pool, 8600 gallons of well water. Hayward 40gpm single speed pump and DE filter

  19. Back To Top    #19
    joshuaberman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Harker Heights, Texas
    Posts
    131

    Re: Anyone use a water level to install their pool?

    Quote Originally Posted by Gomez9356 View Post
    I did the water jug method since I was working by myself most of the time. It worked very well. I think I used 1/2" tubing on mine.
    http://i435.photobucket.com/albums/q.../IMG_09581.jpg
    Clever. Braced one with bricks when I didn't have a helper. (Which was alot!)

    22'x52" Intex 10,472 gal. w/ 2650 Sand Filter, using Taylor K2006 Kit. BBB

    My Build: http://www.troublefreepool.com/threa...x)-Will-update

  20. Back To Top    #20
    kne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Concord, CA
    Posts
    92

    Re: Anyone use a water level to install their pool?

    I like the water jug. Did the 2 yardsticks, but it required 2 people

    18' x 48" Intex ultra frame
    Standard cartridge filter and SWG that came with the pool
    I started off with a Taylor test kit, but my refills are coming from TFT so I am not sure what kit you would say I have.
    Stir thingy - Check

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •