Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: How many pucks in the floater at a time?

1. Back To Top    #1
    Swisher, Iowa

How many pucks in the floater at a time?

Might be a rookie question but I am a pool rookie so I will ask. How many 3 inch pucks do you put into the floater if your using one at one time? One? Three? Same Question for my Bromine spa, I use a floater for it and put in the 1 inch bromine tablets. Do I just fill the floater up or just put one in at a time?
    Retired Navy Chief (CTOC)
    21ft round 4ft AG 9367 gallons, floater with pucks as needed, Waterway PB 19inch Sand, Waterway PB 1hp SPL (not sure of type), Rheem LP Heater, Hayward Aqua bug, Aqua Luminator Light. Located in Iowa.

2. Back To Top    #2
    East Texas

Re: How many pucks in the floater at a time?

If water gets to all the pucks equally, they should equally degrade I'd think. You can always take them out if needed, allow to dry, and reuse later.
    16x32x52" Steel Cornelius Miramar AGP Vinyl liner 13,100 gal. Buried 2 ft.
    2 Speed Hayward Power-Flo Matrix 85 g.p.m. 22" 250lb. sand filter hard plumbed
    Pool Rover Jr., Pool Blaster Max, Diver Dave TF100 Test Kit/Speed Stir
    Margaritaville Frozen Concoction Maker, Liqour Chiller, & Drink Mixer & Party Tub----Collect 'um all!

3. Back To Top    #3

San Rafael, CA USA

For the same output setting on the floater (adjustment of vane open/close sizes), more tabs will output more chlorine or bromine. Also, more tabs last somewhat longer (not proportionately, though). So you can adjust between the number of tabs and the output setting to get the amount of disinfectant you want and how long the tabs last.