Newbie Questions from Tucson Here in Da House

Jun 1, 2013
Hi Folks,

I am just beginning the research on getting an AGP here in Tucson AZ. I have been lurking here for a couple of weeks now and have a few questions:

1. Do I need to get a permit to have an AGP installed? Of course I will follow the barrier laws, which seem basically that the steps/ladder to the pool must be lockable.

2. Do I need to inform my Home Warranty Company? Get additional insurance?

3. What about getting a pool financed? Is this possible? I would love to get a resin sided pool for durability.

I am a single mom of a 5 year old special needs child. I do okay financially, but am not chocked full of money, so I need to watch my pennies. Do yall think I can get a small round resin pool (10-12 ft round, 48-52 inches deep) and deck installed for 5000 or less? That is something I can pay off in 12-18 months easily.

Any thoughts, tips or suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

I would love to swim this summer, but realistically, I think it will be next year.

Dark in da House

darkling said:
Hi Folks,

I am just beginning the research on getting an AGP here in Tucson AZ. I have been lurking here for a couple of weeks now and have a few questions:

1. Do I need to get a permit to have an AGP installed? Of course I will follow the barrier laws, which seem basically that the steps/ladder to the pool must be lockable.

Maybe. Do you live in a city or have an HOA? I'd start there.

2. Do I need to inform my Home Warranty Company? Get additional insurance?

Also maybe. I would call them to check. Don't tel them you have one. Tell them you are looking into it.

3. What about getting a pool financed? Is this possible? I would love to get a resin sided pool for durability.

Sure! Many ABG pool dealers offer financing.