fhorta

May 30, 2013
Central California
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
hello, newbie here. wondering if i can get some help. here is some info on my equipment:
-gallons: 24000
-in ground plaster
-fc=23ppm
-cc=1ppm
-cya=45-50
-ph=7.2-7.6

sanitizer used=all clear superchlorinator 56, 1pnd packets, 2 per night-supposed to be the good stuff
test kit used=taylor 2006

the readings above were taken as of this morning @ 7:15 am pacific time. i live in cenrtral california.

for the first time that i can remember i actually had a reading of 1ppm cc. i have been battling green cloudy water for the past week. i been shocking at night for the last three nights and brining fc to at least above 18ppm. the first two nights i been losing about 4 ppm of chlorine over night. shocked last night again and brought ppm to 23. this morning was at 23 still, so that is good, right? however, now i have 1ppm of cc. ( i wasnt really taking the cc readings for the past three days until this morning because i never got a cc reading before)

my question, per guidelines on this forum, i am supposed to add 10 ppm of free chlorine to get rid of that 1ppm of cc. so do i still add the additional chlorine to bring it up to 10 ppm even though right now it is at 23 ppm already? so wouldnt the fact that it is already at 23 ppm it should get rid of that 1ppm eventually? OR, regardless of how much fc i have, i need to add the additional fc to get rid of the 1ppm pf cc? the water is getting clearer comapred to how it started. i can actually begin to see the bottom floor of the pool now, though it is still dark. been running pump 24/7 and backwashing when psi goes over 11. thanks for any help, ideas, suggestions, information can get.

:wave: Welcome to TFP!!!

Not sure where you saw the 10ppm FC / 1ppm CC guideline here? You just need to continue to follow the shock PROCESS as described in Pool School until you pass the 3 criteria to stop: Shocking Your Pool