Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: new pool salt water system

1. Back To Top    #1

new pool salt water system

Intex 18x48 sand filter salt system. I followed all of the instruction on backwash rinse and then on for salt. The salt system has only ran 6 hrs/day for a couple of days no CYA added so I had my water tested.
    FC-0
    TC-0
    CC-0
    ph-7.2
    hardness-70ppm
    alkalinity-0ppm
    CYA-5ppm
    Copper-0
    So it obvious I need to make some changes the pool store said add 1.5lbs of CYA and 12lbs of Alkalinity Up (baking soda). Let this go for 5 days and bring in another sample. My question is should I just run my salt system 12 hrs/day for a few days to get caught up. There is a boost the runs 4 times longer than programmed so should I just boost from my 6 hrs so it runs 24 hrs and do this for a couple of days.
    DO I really need to add the Alkalinity up?
    I am new to Salt water system so any help is appreciated
    Tony
    18'x48' Intex 14" 1600gal/hr sand filter saltwater system

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: new pool salt water system

Welcome to TFP TCarson17
    I'm a newbie and the people here helped me a lot
    First thing get your own test kit (that's what I did)
    Then listen to the pro's here (Did that too )
    14600gal, In-Ground Fiberglass, Haywood s244t Sand Filter, Jandy Apure35 SWG,
    Haywood 2 speed 1hp pump, Haywood Pool Shark, TF-100 Test Kit http://tftestkits.net/
    Pool School http://www.troublefreepool.com/categ...etting_started
    Never been Pool Stored Thanks to TFP

3. Back To Top    #3

Welcome to TFP!!!

Those tests can not be believed. I do not think it is chemically possible (or at least extremely unlikely) to have TA = 0 and a pH that is 7.2.

Order yourself one of the recommended test kits and read Pool School a few times ... very quickly you will know more than 95+% of pool store employees.