Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: where is cell temp sensor on goldline t15 cell

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Naples FL
    Posts
    5

    where is cell temp sensor on goldline t15 cell

    Does anyone know where the "cell temperature sensor" is located. I'm getting very high readings +170 degrees and the generator is shutting off. I have T Cell-15
    15k gal, IG pebble, 1 HP pump, Cartridge, AquaLogic TCell15 SWG

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Naples FL
    Posts
    5

    Cell Temp Sensor for Aqualogic TCell15

    I have the Aqua Logic T-Cell-15 SWG with the Goldline control panel. I get he message "Chlorinator Off - High Temperature". In the Diagnostics Menu the Cell Temperature Sensor reading is generally +170 degrees, so its shutting of the generator. Not sure if everything was working properly before, but I just cleaned the cell with a relatively high concentration of muriatic. I have re-check the cell to make sure it clean/clear and actually tried switching direction. I check the back of the board (K1 relay) after reading other board and everything looks good - no black, Except the back of the Flow Sensor but that looks like a different connection. So my questions is, "where is the cell temperature sensor, and is there a way to check or replace it?" Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. Cant afford to replace the cell at this time.
    15k gal, IG pebble, 1 HP pump, Cartridge, AquaLogic TCell15 SWG

  3. Back To Top    #3
    mas985's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Pleasanton, CA
    Posts
    11,489

    Re: where is cell temp sensor on goldline t15 cell

    The temperature sensor is in the cell itself and unfortunately, it is not serviceable without replacing the cell. But I would suspect the main board before the cell. Also, you should be able to take the cell to a pool store and they can test it for you.
    Mark
    Hydraulics 101; Pump Ed 101; Pump/Pool Spreadsheets; Pump Run Time Study; DIY Acid Dosing; DIY Cover Roller
    18'x36' 20k plaster, MaxFlo SP2303VSP, Aqualogic PS8 SWCG, 420 sq-ft Cartridge, Solar, 6 jet spa, 1 HP jet pump, 400k BTU NG Heater

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Naples FL
    Posts
    5

    Re: where is cell temp sensor on goldline t15 cell

    I took the cell to a pinch-a-penny store today and they ran it thru their test and it "failed" several times. I assume there is no way to bypass this sensor and still have the cell function, somewhat properly???? I cant really afford to replace the cell at this time, unless there is a generic band that works for a good price. I guess that's the next research project. Thanks for the input.
    15k gal, IG pebble, 1 HP pump, Cartridge, AquaLogic TCell15 SWG

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Re: where is cell temp sensor on goldline t15 cell

    Compupool makes a generic. Not much cheaper than the Hayward that comes with it though. $365

    http://www.poolsupplyworld.com/CompuPoo ... RC40GH.htm

    The Hayward t15 is $425 on Amazon.

    You could always use the BBB method until you could get a cell though.
    18x36 Grecian Vinyl; 8' Roman steps w/t 2 spa jets; cozy cove w/t 6 spa jets; 2 MD, 1 Skimmer, 3 returns; Hayward Ecostar, 30" Ranger sand filter; Hayward color logic 4.0 LED light; Hayward aqua logic; 2" PVC pipe 4 Jandy Valves

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Re: where is cell temp sensor on goldline t15 cell

    Also if you haven't read this thread it may interest you.

    need-advice-on-replacement-for-swg-hayward-t-cell-15-t50326.html
    18x36 Grecian Vinyl; 8' Roman steps w/t 2 spa jets; cozy cove w/t 6 spa jets; 2 MD, 1 Skimmer, 3 returns; Hayward Ecostar, 30" Ranger sand filter; Hayward color logic 4.0 LED light; Hayward aqua logic; 2" PVC pipe 4 Jandy Valves

  7. Back To Top    #7
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: where is cell temp sensor on goldline t15 cell

    There are also reconditioned cells available from a company and was discussed in a thread. Search for a thread titled "cell life"
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  8. Back To Top    #8
    mas985's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Pleasanton, CA
    Posts
    11,489

    Re: where is cell temp sensor on goldline t15 cell

    Quote Originally Posted by John51
    I took the cell to a pinch-a-penny store today and they ran it thru their test and it "failed" several times. I assume there is no way to bypass this sensor and still have the cell function, somewhat properly????
    It would be very difficult because the sensor is wired into the main cable.


    This is a cell I am considering when mine fails. Sounds interesting:

    http://www.titaniumcells.com/index.html
    Mark
    Hydraulics 101; Pump Ed 101; Pump/Pool Spreadsheets; Pump Run Time Study; DIY Acid Dosing; DIY Cover Roller
    18'x36' 20k plaster, MaxFlo SP2303VSP, Aqualogic PS8 SWCG, 420 sq-ft Cartridge, Solar, 6 jet spa, 1 HP jet pump, 400k BTU NG Heater

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Ft Lauderdale, Florida
    Posts
    1,455

    Re: where is cell temp sensor on goldline t15 cell

    Mark,
    That looks like the Compupool generic cell in the link for titaniumcells.com. I can only caution that in my case, the Compupool AutoPilot generic cells have repeated issues with them working properly, or fitting correctly.
    Sean Assam - Sean@teamhorner.com
    National Accounts and Commercial Products Manager
    AquaCal Heat Pumps www.aquacal.com
    AutoPilot Salt Chlorine Generators www.autopilot.com

  10. Back To Top    #10
    mas985's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Pleasanton, CA
    Posts
    11,489

    Re: where is cell temp sensor on goldline t15 cell

    The titanium cells are different than the standard Compupool cells which I would not buy either. They use Compupool for just the housing and assembly but the plates are proprietary technology which to me maters more. I have not tried them but the few people that have seem to be pretty happy.

    This is on the about page:

    The final assembly is performed by the industry leader, CompuPool. A strong pioneer in electrolytic cells, CompuPool began operations in 1979 and now operates three global manufacturing facilities. The company brings a wealth of experience and technical expertise, which is built into each Titanium cell. Serving all 50 states with fast UPS shipping and old-fashioned customer service, Pool Express is proud to be the nation's leading online retailer of TI3 Titanium cells.
    Mark
    Hydraulics 101; Pump Ed 101; Pump/Pool Spreadsheets; Pump Run Time Study; DIY Acid Dosing; DIY Cover Roller
    18'x36' 20k plaster, MaxFlo SP2303VSP, Aqualogic PS8 SWCG, 420 sq-ft Cartridge, Solar, 6 jet spa, 1 HP jet pump, 400k BTU NG Heater

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    fallbrook
    Posts
    1

    Re: where is cell temp sensor on goldline t15 cell

    Quote Originally Posted by John51 View Post
    Does anyone know where the "cell temperature sensor" is located. I'm getting very high readings +170 degrees and the generator is shutting off. I have T Cell-15
    Warning: This will probably make you feel like Ned Beatty's character in Deliverance too. I searched and asked and searched again to find the location of the cell sensor on a Hayward T-15 and now I know why it was so hard to find. First, its not a replaceable part. If its bad your whole cell is bad and what a ripoff. The sensor is on the wall of the cell itself under a plastic "saddle" on the power cord end. Its about the size of a nickle, made of some ceramic type material and can shut your whole system down. You can't cut the 2 wires because the chlorine generator will show "open" and won't start. Same thing if you bypass and short them together. So my fellow Canoe trippers we have to shell out $500 for what looks to be a 39 cent item which will go bad in about 2 years. I know this is why the majority of these cells fail and here's the frosting: If you test them on the tester at your local pool store they will test as being good which costs you a lot of time looking for other causes. I'm starting to think it wasn't so hard to throw some chlorine tablets in the pool once in awhile. $500 will buy enough tablets for 2 years for sure. Where's the big advantage of a salt system I was supposed to get?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •