Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: What to do first or do it all!

1. Back To Top    #1

What to do first or do it all!

Hi Friends,
    I'm kinda new to this and so far things have been good. Today after days of cold weather and inches of rain my pool is dirty and a a little cloudy.

Here are my numbers
    FC. .5
    CC. O
    TA. 70
    CYA. 0
    Salt. 3400
    PH. 7.2

My husband already threw in a gallon of 12 per cent bleach
    I put in a sock again for CYA

Can I put in baking soda and borax too?

Thanks

Sandy
    24,000 20x42 double roman end in ground pool being built. Start date june13, 2012.
    Finished July 4th, 2012, sports pool, vinyl,SWG, DE filter, fountains. Heat pump,
    First Pool Ever!

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: What to do first or do it all!

I wouldn't do either -just yet. Looks like your PH is happy at your current level of TA. Borates are an option. Just keep your FC level in proportion to your CYA level. Get your CYA level up to what is recommended in pool school for I "assume" your SWG? If you have one, please add it to your profile and any other pool equipment info you may have left out.
    16x32x52" Steel Cornelius Miramar AGP Vinyl liner 13,100 gal. Buried 2 ft.
    2 Speed Hayward Power-Flo Matrix 85 g.p.m. 22" 250lb. sand filter hard plumbed
    Pool Rover Jr., Pool Blaster Max, Diver Dave TF100 Test Kit/Speed Stir
    Margaritaville Frozen Concoction Maker, Liqour Chiller, & Drink Mixer & Party Tub----Collect 'um all!

3. Back To Top    #3

What CYA level are you shooting for? Just curious.

Jeff
    24'x54" AG Morada RTR (by wilbar) 13'500 gal. Hayward Powerflo Matrix 1hp 2 speed. Hayward Perflex EC65 DE filter.

4. Back To Top    #4

pH and TA are acceptable. Deal with them later.

Get that FC up to the level it should be assuming the CYA is 100% dissolved.
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.