Can this liner be used?

May 22, 2013
Heyo! I'm new at all of this and I could really use some expertise...I think I'm in the right place.

My wife and I just bought an above ground pool that had been purchased new by another couple but had never been used. They bought it, had it delivered and installed professionally, and then later the same day, with literally only an inch of water in the bottom, had to take it down because it was against their Homeowner's association regulations. No above ground pools allowed.

It was purchased new and installed in early August of 2012, was disassembled the same day, and has been stored in their garage since then. I've read over and over that liners cannot be reused. Here's my question...since it literally had only an inch of water in it, was that enough to make the liner unusable to us?

The pool is an 18 x 33 oval with 54 inch depth. The liner is V-bead 25 mil in "like new" condition, however, the skimmer WAS cut in. Is it possible to line up the holes? We really like the liner and would love to use it. Any experts out there that can offer me up some knowledge would be really appreciated.

Thanks very much!
Derek

You'll never line up the skimmer opening, but you can cut it in a new place and then patch the old cutout. If you are lucky, a pool store might be able to get you a piece of liner to match from an IG install where they cut out steps.

John - thanks for the reply. Can i take it that you're saying that the liner would probably work if I could patch it and recut the skimmer hole? I think my situation is a little unique...and confusing.

thanks,
Derek

fourboysdad said:
John - thanks for the reply. Can i take it that you're saying that the liner would probably work if I could patch it and recut the skimmer hole? I think my situation is a little unique...and confusing.

thanks,
Derek

It will probably work.

I've seen the cut the skimmer opening with an inch of water on YouTube vidz. Would I do it? No but that's just me.