Become a TFP Supporter Welcome to our new server and new forum software. Pool School
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Wiring/Breaker Size for Sub-Panel

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    2

    Wiring/Breaker Size for Sub-Panel

    Hello.
    I'm soon to have our new 14x28 in ground vinyl lined pool installed.
    A shed aprox 8 feet from the pools edge will be installed hosting a sub-panel. I will be doing the wiring myself. Shed is ~40 from the house.
    My question is regarding wire size and breaker sizing; Im reading mixed things around the wonder WWW.
    What Im planning: adding 60 AMP double to my existing panel in the house. Running 6-3 PVC Jacket - 600 Volt PVC/Nylon Insulation - 90C UL Type TC - with Ground ER Rated Tray Cable to the shed. In the shed will be a 100 AMP rated sub-panel. Equipment is a 95,000 BTU electric heat pump, 1HP pool pump, 2 LED pool lights, and salt chlorinator.
    In the sub-panel is a 40 AMP double for the heater and 15 AMP double for the pump and 15 AMP single for the salt and pool lights okay? Would this over load the 60 Amp in the house panel, I was assuming no as not everything is running a full draw.

    Also any advise on a GFI within this mix and any grounding plates if you please.

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    20,813

    Re: Wiring/Breaker Size for Sub-Panel

    The 6/3 will be fine, but I think I'd go ahead and run #4 if you think you'll ever add any more stuff to it.

    You'll either need for one of the main breakers to be GFI or each of the individual breakers to be. I'd go with the individual breakers as if one trips it won't shut down the whole panel.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 1.5hp Dynamo pump. 24" Pentair Sand Dollar Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit
    You can stop SLAMing your pool when you pass the OCLT (You lose 1ppm or less FC overnight, & You have .5ppm CC's or less) & your water is clear.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Massachusetts
    Posts
    2,575

    Re: Wiring/Breaker Size for Sub-Panel

    If it were me, I'd put a 100 amp breaker in the main and run that out there instead of 60 amp. You;ll need bigger wire, but in the long run you wont be limited on power.

    Not sure on the wire either. The ground wire feeding a subpanel for a pool needs to be insulated. Not sure what you described has an insulated ground.
    14,000 gallon IG, Vinyl. Hayward 3/4 hp superpump, Penatair IC40 SWCG, Pentair automation, Hayward sand filter, Aqua Comfort heat pump, Hayward 400k Lo-Nox LP heater.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    176

    Re: Wiring/Breaker Size for Sub-Panel

    There is limit to how many amps to put thru a 6/3 and or 4/3.

    On 6/3 it is 70 amps and that more than enough for any pool and or spa combo, don's add up the circuit breakers and think you need that size main, just look at you main house panel most always add up to more than the sum of the breakers, because you never draw power to all at the same time.

    I would use a 6/3 with a 70amp in the main service panel to the sub,

    just did it and was approved with UL cert.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    2

    Re: Wiring/Breaker Size for Sub-Panel

    Thanks for the feedback so far, always helpful.

    One thing I should mention is that my current home panel is only 100AMP service. With putting in a 60AMP double to my sub-panel (or a 70AMP double) am I asking for trouble or does this fall under the "not everything runs at full draw and at the same time".


    Thanks!

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    176

    Re: Wiring/Breaker Size for Sub-Panel

    correct to my understanding ""not everything runs at full draw and at the same time""

  7. #7
    Senior Member gtemkin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    388

    Re: Wiring/Breaker Size for Sub-Panel

    Quote Originally Posted by Nova13
    just did it and was approved with UL cert.

    Nova13, just wondered what you meant by "approved with UL cert". I've heard of using UL listed electrical components but I haven't heard of getting a UL cert approval on a wiring job. Does this mean your local authority approved your work. Thanks.
    21K gal 16' x 40' in-ground pool built 1959, old school with Jacuzzi bronze pump, American Products 24" Sand Filter & Americana Multiport valve, Jandy Lite2 millivolt heater, Coverstar cover, and classic Kreepy Krauly.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Massachusetts
    Posts
    2,575

    Re: Wiring/Breaker Size for Sub-Panel

    UL cert is one thing, the NEC is another. And the NEC says ground wires for pool wiring whether to a subpanel or the pool equipment itself require an insulated ground.
    14,000 gallon IG, Vinyl. Hayward 3/4 hp superpump, Penatair IC40 SWCG, Pentair automation, Hayward sand filter, Aqua Comfort heat pump, Hayward 400k Lo-Nox LP heater.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    176

    Re: Wiring/Breaker Size for Sub-Panel

    Quote Originally Posted by gtemkin
    Quote Originally Posted by Nova13
    just did it and was approved with UL cert.

    Nova13, just wondered what you meant by "approved with UL cert". I've heard of using UL listed electrical components but I haven't heard of getting a UL cert approval on a wiring job. Does this mean your local authority approved your work. Thanks.
    Yes, part of the building permit included a underwriter stop by an then issue a cert, It will be forwarded to my insurance Co.

  10. #10
    Senior Member gtemkin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    388

    Re: Wiring/Breaker Size for Sub-Panel

    Quote Originally Posted by Nova13
    Yes, part of the building permit included a underwriter stop by an then issue a cert, It will be forwarded to my insurance Co.
    I think the underwriter who visited and the certificate issued relates to your mortgage and home insurance but not UL, which is a trademarked designation and stands for Underwriters Laboratories, a non-profit organization that issues safety standards and performs tests on manufacturer's products among many other things. In other words, someone who has the occupation of underwriter doesn't necessarily have any association with UL; and a certificate from an underwriter is very much different than a certificate from UL.
    21K gal 16' x 40' in-ground pool built 1959, old school with Jacuzzi bronze pump, American Products 24" Sand Filter & Americana Multiport valve, Jandy Lite2 millivolt heater, Coverstar cover, and classic Kreepy Krauly.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    176

    Re: Wiring/Breaker Size for Sub-Panel

    Here they call it an UL Cert, I own my house, no mortgage.

    It's a certificate that basically says the wiring meets the building code, not sure Y U R splitting hairs?

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Central Massachusetts
    Posts
    2,575

    Re: Wiring/Breaker Size for Sub-Panel

    Quote Originally Posted by Nova13
    Here they call it an UL Cert, I own my house, no mortgage.
    Out of curiosity, where are you from?
    Normally an electrician pulls a permit and the work is inspected by the local electrical inspector. I dont think anybody is splitting hair, its just that nobody has heard of a UL cert like this.
    14,000 gallon IG, Vinyl. Hayward 3/4 hp superpump, Penatair IC40 SWCG, Pentair automation, Hayward sand filter, Aqua Comfort heat pump, Hayward 400k Lo-Nox LP heater.

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    176

    Re: Wiring/Breaker Size for Sub-Panel

    Did it in NY & now FL, I don't use an electrician, as a home owner U can do your own work and get it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •