Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Raypak heater "Rollout SW Open"

  1. Back To Top    #1
    tlwilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    50

    Raypak heater "Rollout SW Open"

    We bought a new heater this season, a Raypak 206,000 BTU NG Electric Heater RHM-15-9962. It heated the pool nicely earlier in the week, but we turned it off when a cool spell was forecast. This morning I tried to turn it on and I get this error message: "Rollout SW Open". What does this mean? I appreciate the help.
    24,000 Gal In Ground pool
    Vinyl Liner; Sand Filter
    Pentair Intelliflo pump
    Pentair IntelliChlor IC40 SWG
    Raypak Gas Heater

  2. Back To Top    #2
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,887

    Re: Raypak heater "Rollout SW Open"

    Here is what I found in the manual: Roll Out Sw Open - Rollout Switch - verify gas pressure, combustion air, blocked heat exchanger, proper vent size/connections, high wind conditions.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  3. Back To Top    #3

    In the Industry
    ps0303's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    2,764

    Re: Raypak heater "Rollout SW Open"

    The rollout switch is activated when something like wind causes the flames to shoot out towards the front of the unit. This is usually caused by high winds while the unit is running. Are you sure it it said rollout? Sounds odd that you turn it on and the switch is open.

    The rollout switch connects inside the cabinet right behind where the gas pipe comes into the gas valve. I have seen a few cases where the installer moved the rollout switch so they could install the gas pipe and they failed to put it back in place. This dangling switch is right by the burners then and when the units lights, its possible for the switch to trip open.

    In any case this unit is under warranty. Hopefully your installer is also a warranty person for Raypak. Call them and have them come back and look at why the switch failed.
    Paul
    http://www.gastekservices.com

    A word of caution: When working with gas and electrical you might want to consider a licensed contractor. Consider the value of your life and others around you.

  4. Back To Top    #4
    tlwilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    50

    Re: Raypak heater "Rollout SW Open"

    Thank you for your reply. It definitely says "Rollout SW Open". I will call the installer for the repair.
    24,000 Gal In Ground pool
    Vinyl Liner; Sand Filter
    Pentair Intelliflo pump
    Pentair IntelliChlor IC40 SWG
    Raypak Gas Heater

  5. Back To Top    #5
    tlwilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    50

    Re: Raypak heater "Rollout SW Open"

    Our heater is still not fixed. They determined it wasn't getting enough gas so the gas company replaced our meter. Turned it on and the same thing happened. Now they say the wind diminished the flame and did something to the fireman's switch. Fireman's switch replaced and the wind keeps blowing out or diminishing the flame. Back and forth on how to protect it from the wind. Anybody with advice?
    24,000 Gal In Ground pool
    Vinyl Liner; Sand Filter
    Pentair Intelliflo pump
    Pentair IntelliChlor IC40 SWG
    Raypak Gas Heater

  6. Back To Top    #6

    In the Industry
    ps0303's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    2,764

    Re: Raypak heater "Rollout SW Open"

    The only thing you can do is add a wind stack to it. You've never had this issue before wind?
    Paul
    http://www.gastekservices.com

    A word of caution: When working with gas and electrical you might want to consider a licensed contractor. Consider the value of your life and others around you.

  7. Back To Top    #7
    tlwilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    50

    Re: Raypak heater "Rollout SW Open"

    Our previous heater never had this problem. It was old and inefficient (still worked), but we wanted to upgrade.
    24,000 Gal In Ground pool
    Vinyl Liner; Sand Filter
    Pentair Intelliflo pump
    Pentair IntelliChlor IC40 SWG
    Raypak Gas Heater

  8. Back To Top    #8

    In the Industry
    ps0303's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    2,764

    Re: Raypak heater "Rollout SW Open"

    Add the Raypak high wind stack. Probably $100 or around there.
    Paul
    http://www.gastekservices.com

    A word of caution: When working with gas and electrical you might want to consider a licensed contractor. Consider the value of your life and others around you.

  9. Back To Top    #9
    tlwilson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    50

    Re: Raypak heater "Rollout SW Open"

    Thanks for the help. I appreciate it!
    24,000 Gal In Ground pool
    Vinyl Liner; Sand Filter
    Pentair Intelliflo pump
    Pentair IntelliChlor IC40 SWG
    Raypak Gas Heater

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Pensacola Florida
    Posts
    1

    Re: Raypak heater "Rollout SW Open"

    How did you solve the problem

  11. Back To Top    #11
    wjr75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    713

    Re: Raypak heater "Rollout SW Open"

    I wonder if you have a bad roll out switch. My old RP2100 heater had a wax one and I replaced it with a solid state one. It had a red reset button on it. That solved my roll out problem at the time. They also sell roll out switches that have different shutoff temps by about 10-15deg if I remember but you may not want to go there. I did buy one of the solid state versions which was higher but didn't need it.
    Inground 22k gallon gunite 15x31 main pool, 15x7 wading pool/sunning deck, hot tub/with overflow (9' octagon with limestone top) & slide NSWG, Aqua Blue Pebble Sheen
    Filter dual cartridge Sta-rite 450sq/ft, TF-100 Test Kit
    Heater Raypak 2100 400k btu cupro-nickel exchanger
    Auto pool cover, Polaris 280 auto pool cleaner, Jandy AqualinkRS8 Remote Control System

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    8

    Re: Raypak heater "Rollout SW Open"

    I have the same problem. Just happened to me today. I bought and got my heater installed in October 2013 and it heated the pool really nicely. I haven't used the heater in about a week. It's been really hot in Toronto. Today I wanted to do an evening swim with the kids and my wife so I thought I'd turn it on and had the "Rollout SW Opem" message. I thought it was a glitch so I cut the power to the unit and turned it back on, cut the gas and turned it back on, opened up the panel and cleaned any debris I could with a cloth rag and nothing. After reading the comments here I have located the switch but it does not have a reset button. I read somewhere that the newer models do not have one. Is it time to call for service or is there anything else I can do on my end? RSVP

  13. Back To Top    #13

    In the Industry
    Pool Clown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Posts
    1,388

    Re: Raypak heater "Rollout SW Open"

    If it is a Raypak heater, the roll out sensor is a one time use part, like a fuse, it isnt re-settable. I would replace it, leave the front cover removed, start the heater, and observe if the flame "rolls out". If you see this happen, turn off the heater immediately, and have a tech check the exchanger for sooting.
    Factory Warranty Station for:
    Jandy, Pentair, Sta-Rite, Raypak, Polaris,
    and Paramount pool cleaning systems.

  14. Back To Top    #14

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    8

    Re: Raypak heater "Rollout SW Open"

    Quote Originally Posted by Pool Clown View Post
    If it is a Raypak heater, the roll out sensor is a one time use part, like a fuse, it isnt re-settable. I would replace it, leave the front cover removed, start the heater, and observe if the flame "rolls out". If you see this happen, turn off the heater immediately, and have a tech check the exchanger for sooting.
    I tried that. It doesn't even ignite. Nothing happens. It is just the error message.

  15. Back To Top    #15
    wjr75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    713

    Re: Raypak heater "Rollout SW Open"

    You can jumper across the roll out sensor to see if it starts. This is just for testing purposes and shouldn't be left that way. Might have blown the replaced sensor again or may have some other board issue.
    Inground 22k gallon gunite 15x31 main pool, 15x7 wading pool/sunning deck, hot tub/with overflow (9' octagon with limestone top) & slide NSWG, Aqua Blue Pebble Sheen
    Filter dual cartridge Sta-rite 450sq/ft, TF-100 Test Kit
    Heater Raypak 2100 400k btu cupro-nickel exchanger
    Auto pool cover, Polaris 280 auto pool cleaner, Jandy AqualinkRS8 Remote Control System

  16. Back To Top    #16

    In the Industry
    Pool Clown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Posts
    1,388

    Re: Raypak heater "Rollout SW Open"

    Quote Originally Posted by Jayryght View Post
    I tried that. It doesn't even ignite. Nothing happens. It is just the error message.
    Did you replace the roll out sensor?
    Trace the roll out sensors' wires all the way back to the board to make sure they haven't been chewed on.
    Factory Warranty Station for:
    Jandy, Pentair, Sta-Rite, Raypak, Polaris,
    and Paramount pool cleaning systems.

  17. Back To Top    #17

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    8

    Re: Raypak heater "Rollout SW Open"

    @wjr75 How do I do that? "Jumper across the rollout sensor?"

    - - - Updated - - -

    @pool clown: no I did not replace it. Not sure how to do that? I see the wires tracing up towards panel, but I guess I have to take off the panel to see it's source right?

    - - - Updated - - -

    @pool clown: no I did not replace it. Not sure how to do that? I see the wires tracing up towards panel, but I guess I have to take off the panel to see it's source right?

  18. Back To Top    #18
    wjr75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    713

    Re: Raypak heater "Rollout SW Open"

    To jumper across you need a wire across the two terminals where the fuse (roll out sensor) is plugged into. If you do any electrical testing you usually have an alligator clip jumper wire which has one on both ends. But as said before this would be temporary.
    Inground 22k gallon gunite 15x31 main pool, 15x7 wading pool/sunning deck, hot tub/with overflow (9' octagon with limestone top) & slide NSWG, Aqua Blue Pebble Sheen
    Filter dual cartridge Sta-rite 450sq/ft, TF-100 Test Kit
    Heater Raypak 2100 400k btu cupro-nickel exchanger
    Auto pool cover, Polaris 280 auto pool cleaner, Jandy AqualinkRS8 Remote Control System

  19. Back To Top    #19

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    8

    Re: Raypak heater "Rollout SW Open"

    @wjr75 Thanks for the tip but I know verrrry little about electrical work and I don't even know what an alligator clip jumper wire is. At this point I may bite the bullet and call a tech. Kudos for your help though.

  20. Back To Top    #20

    In the Industry
    ps0303's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    2,764

    Re: Raypak heater "Rollout SW Open"

    Yes if you don't know much about electric or gas, call a tech and have them check it out.
    Paul
    http://www.gastekservices.com

    A word of caution: When working with gas and electrical you might want to consider a licensed contractor. Consider the value of your life and others around you.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •