Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Another Newbie Here

1. Back To Top    #1

Another Newbie Here

Greetings all,

Happy to be a member of the site. I was a bit intimidated with managing my pool last year after we got it.... and didn't pay much attention to it other then throwing a sack of shock and a chlorine puck in it every now and then. I closed the pool and when I opened it 10 days ago I had a green swamp (sorry no pics). It was complete with tadpoles, frogs and who knows what else. There was a lot of pine straw on the bottom. I also had to clean the impeller as it clogged up with pine straw.

For the past week - I've been added 2 lbs of shock every night when I get home from work (at midnight). I still can't see the bottom but I think I'm moving in the right direction. I ordered and received the TF100 test kit and here are the numbers as of this morning:

PH 6.8
    CYA 0
    CH 150
    TA 40
    FC 6
    CC 1
    TC 7

Any advice would be appreciated regarding those numbers.
    28' round Doughboy AGP (23,000 gallons) 7.5' deep end
    Aquaview sand filter
    Hayward 1.5HP pump

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Another Newbie Here

- gotta get CYA up
    - gotta get Ph up
    - gotta get TA up
    - looks like a shock might be in order

Bit of work to do there, are you using pool calculator.com?
    20' X 54" Sharkline Matrix Resin AGP, 9400 Gallons, Sta-Rite 1 HP Dynamo Pump, 150 lb Pentair Sand Filter, Gorilla Pad,
    Foam Cove, Taylor K-2006 kit, BBB method, 8'X20' Fafco Sunsaver Hard Plumb, DIY Fountain, Margarittaville Fiji

My Build: one-man-one-pool-and-one-deck-agp-pics-t37172.html
    My Build 'To-Do' List for other DIY'ers: my-pool-build-list-t40249.html?hilit=list

3. Back To Top    #3

Yeah, what he said.

Welcome
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.