Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: HELP My pool was green, now it's milky.

1. Back To Top    #1

HELP My pool was green, now it's milky.

Hello,
    I have an Intex 32 ft x 16 ft x 52 Ultra Fram Rectangular Pool w/ Sand Filter Pump & Saltwater System (14,364 gallons).
    A couple of weeks ago I decided to open my pool. Since it was not maintained through the mild Texas winter it was overrun with green algae. So I went to my local pool store and had my water tested and of course had a list of chemicals to add. Well I did and now my water is milky. I have been vac'ing to waste every evening for over a week now and it's still green.

Water Analysis:
    Free Chlorine 0.1
    Total Chlorine 0.2
    Conbined Chlorine 0.1
    PH 7.7
    Hardness 170
    Alkalinity 66ppm
    Cyanuric Acid 15
    Copper 0.12
    Iron 0
    Salt 3100

What should I do???? They want me to add more shock.

Thanks Penny
    PS I just got my pool last year so this is my first year to "open my pool". Last year was such a breeze after the initial installation of the pool.
    Penny
    14,362 gal, AG, Krystal Clear Sand Filter Pump 16", SWG Model CS20110 Flow Rate 2,650 gal/hr, Installed 2012
    Aquabot Pura 4x

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: HELP My pool was green, now it's milky.

Welcome to TFP! Please take a look into Pool School at the top right of every page. You need to add chlorine and get your CYA up to about 50ppm. Please take special intrest in the Chlorine/CYA Chart, Defeating Algae, BBB and Test Kits. Read everything you can in POOL SCHOOL several times front n back, inside and out!

We highly recommend the TF100 test kit. (link can be found in my signature) You won't defeat the Green Monster without it and aquire a trouble free pool.

Get your POP. It's going to take awhile.

Pool Owner Patience.
    I'd bet you my bikini you'll never get TFP water from a pool store!

24' Sharkline Venture De Filter

3. Back To Top    #3

Hi Penny,