Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: problem with AquaPro 500 heat pump

  1. Back To Top    #1
    dahncke's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Indianapolis metro area
    Posts
    32

    problem with AquaPro 500 heat pump

    I purchased a new heat pump and cannot seem to get it working. It continues to error out with an HP (high pressure) code after about 5-10 min of operation.

    Anyone have any experience with these units? Calling for service, but really worried that we are off to such a bad start.

    ?
    ............................................................ ........................
    Kayak Pool - 12 ft. x 24 ft. rectangular, 5½ ft. deep end
    Frog System, Sta-Rite-Modular Media Cartridge Filter, Pentair 1 H.P. pump
    AquaPRO Pro500 heat pump & Automatic AutoGuard™ Pool safety cover
    ............................................................ ........................

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,333

    Re: problem with AquaPro 500 heat pump

    The HP error should be on the freon side and that shouldn't happen as long as there is water flowing through the system. Have you checked to make sure you have water flowing through the heat pump to the pool? Make sure the bypass valve is closed if there is one.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  3. Back To Top    #3
    dahncke's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Indianapolis metro area
    Posts
    32

    Re: problem with AquaPro 500 heat pump

    Yes, the water is flowing. When I shut off the pump, I get a flow error. So, it can tell that the water is moving. Called for service. No idea what the problem is. Hope it is not a sign of things to come with the unit.
    ............................................................ ........................
    Kayak Pool - 12 ft. x 24 ft. rectangular, 5½ ft. deep end
    Frog System, Sta-Rite-Modular Media Cartridge Filter, Pentair 1 H.P. pump
    AquaPRO Pro500 heat pump & Automatic AutoGuard™ Pool safety cover
    ............................................................ ........................

  4. Back To Top    #4

    In the Industry

    ps0303's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    3,435

    Re: problem with AquaPro 500 heat pump

    Didn't the installer see this after they installed it?
    Paul
    http://www.gastekservices.com A word of caution: When working with gas and electrical you might want to consider a licensed contractor. Consider the value of your life and others around you. If you would like to provide a review of the help I provided, please use the following link to leave a review. gastek - Google Search,

  5. Back To Top    #5
    dahncke's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Indianapolis metro area
    Posts
    32

    Re: problem with AquaPro 500 heat pump

    self install
    ............................................................ ........................
    Kayak Pool - 12 ft. x 24 ft. rectangular, 5½ ft. deep end
    Frog System, Sta-Rite-Modular Media Cartridge Filter, Pentair 1 H.P. pump
    AquaPRO Pro500 heat pump & Automatic AutoGuard™ Pool safety cover
    ............................................................ ........................

  6. Back To Top    #6

    In the Industry

    ps0303's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    3,435

    Re: problem with AquaPro 500 heat pump

    You didn't by any chance plumb the unit backwards did you?
    Paul
    http://www.gastekservices.com A word of caution: When working with gas and electrical you might want to consider a licensed contractor. Consider the value of your life and others around you. If you would like to provide a review of the help I provided, please use the following link to leave a review. gastek - Google Search,

  7. Back To Top    #7
    dahncke's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Indianapolis metro area
    Posts
    32

    Re: problem with AquaPro 500 heat pump

    no, I am sure I didn't. I have a simple set up with only one set of drains and one skimmer.
    ............................................................ ........................
    Kayak Pool - 12 ft. x 24 ft. rectangular, 5½ ft. deep end
    Frog System, Sta-Rite-Modular Media Cartridge Filter, Pentair 1 H.P. pump
    AquaPRO Pro500 heat pump & Automatic AutoGuard™ Pool safety cover
    ............................................................ ........................

  8. Back To Top    #8
    dahncke's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Indianapolis metro area
    Posts
    32

    Re: problem with AquaPro 500 heat pump

    Anyone own one of these? Any insight on their reliability?
    ............................................................ ........................
    Kayak Pool - 12 ft. x 24 ft. rectangular, 5½ ft. deep end
    Frog System, Sta-Rite-Modular Media Cartridge Filter, Pentair 1 H.P. pump
    AquaPRO Pro500 heat pump & Automatic AutoGuard™ Pool safety cover
    ............................................................ ........................

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Ft Lauderdale, Florida
    Posts
    1,455

    Re: problem with AquaPro 500 heat pump

    make sure there's no obstruction on the discharge side of the fan, nor the evaporator coil around the unit. Blocked flow will cause this to occur as well. HP protection, high pressure, can also be due to improperf freon pressures in the unit.
    Sean Assam - Sean@teamhorner.com
    National Accounts and Commercial Products Manager
    AquaCal Heat Pumps www.aquacal.com
    AutoPilot Salt Chlorine Generators www.autopilot.com

  10. Back To Top    #10
    GreatCanadian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    St. John's, Newfoundland
    Posts
    844

    Re: problem with AquaPro 500 heat pump

    I have the AquaPro 500, and I am on my third pool season. I cannot help you with your problem, just wanted to let you know that I haven't had any issues with my heater (knock on wood).
    13'x22'x52" 8,000 gallon ProSeries Pool with Borates
    Intex 110 pound Sand Filter with Zeobrite, 2650 gph pump, 0.95 hp
    Bestway SWG
    AquaPro ECO500 50,000 BTU heat pump
    GLI Whirlwind Solar Cover Reel, TF-100 Test Kit

  11. Back To Top    #11
    dahncke's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Indianapolis metro area
    Posts
    32

    Re: problem with AquaPro 500 heat pump

    On vacation right now, but the company sent someone out to swap out the unit. So, I am hopeful that will resolve the issue.
    ............................................................ ........................
    Kayak Pool - 12 ft. x 24 ft. rectangular, 5½ ft. deep end
    Frog System, Sta-Rite-Modular Media Cartridge Filter, Pentair 1 H.P. pump
    AquaPRO Pro500 heat pump & Automatic AutoGuard™ Pool safety cover
    ............................................................ ........................

  12. Back To Top    #12
    GreatCanadian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    St. John's, Newfoundland
    Posts
    844

    Re: problem with AquaPro 500 heat pump

    Any update on this?
    13'x22'x52" 8,000 gallon ProSeries Pool with Borates
    Intex 110 pound Sand Filter with Zeobrite, 2650 gph pump, 0.95 hp
    Bestway SWG
    AquaPro ECO500 50,000 BTU heat pump
    GLI Whirlwind Solar Cover Reel, TF-100 Test Kit

  13. Back To Top    #13
    dahncke's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Indianapolis metro area
    Posts
    32

    Re: problem with AquaPro 500 heat pump

    Yes, we had a brand new unit delivered and installed. The new one has been working perfectly. It has cooled off here and the pool's temperature has remained delightful!
    ............................................................ ........................
    Kayak Pool - 12 ft. x 24 ft. rectangular, 5½ ft. deep end
    Frog System, Sta-Rite-Modular Media Cartridge Filter, Pentair 1 H.P. pump
    AquaPRO Pro500 heat pump & Automatic AutoGuard™ Pool safety cover
    ............................................................ ........................

  14. Back To Top    #14
    GreatCanadian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    St. John's, Newfoundland
    Posts
    844

    Re: problem with AquaPro 500 heat pump

    Awesome. Do you know which sensor was causing the issue?
    13'x22'x52" 8,000 gallon ProSeries Pool with Borates
    Intex 110 pound Sand Filter with Zeobrite, 2650 gph pump, 0.95 hp
    Bestway SWG
    AquaPro ECO500 50,000 BTU heat pump
    GLI Whirlwind Solar Cover Reel, TF-100 Test Kit

  15. Back To Top    #15
    dahncke's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Indianapolis metro area
    Posts
    32

    Re: problem with AquaPro 500 heat pump

    No, once they knew it wasn't the sensor that detects low flow they said that the unit needed to be exchanged.
    ............................................................ ........................
    Kayak Pool - 12 ft. x 24 ft. rectangular, 5½ ft. deep end
    Frog System, Sta-Rite-Modular Media Cartridge Filter, Pentair 1 H.P. pump
    AquaPRO Pro500 heat pump & Automatic AutoGuard™ Pool safety cover
    ............................................................ ........................

  16. Back To Top    #16
    GreatCanadian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    St. John's, Newfoundland
    Posts
    844

    Re: problem with AquaPro 500 heat pump

    Ok, thanks. I was just trying to find out if there's something I should get ready for!!
    13'x22'x52" 8,000 gallon ProSeries Pool with Borates
    Intex 110 pound Sand Filter with Zeobrite, 2650 gph pump, 0.95 hp
    Bestway SWG
    AquaPro ECO500 50,000 BTU heat pump
    GLI Whirlwind Solar Cover Reel, TF-100 Test Kit

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •