Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Phos Free Pool Cleaner to keep algae away

1. Back To Top    #1

Phos Free Pool Cleaner to keep algae away

My pool is surrounded by trees, and leaves and organics are constantly being blown into the water. I recently bought the home/pool and I'm new to pools maintenance and have a weekly pool guy, though I want to eventually take over. I am currently using this product to keep the algae away http://www.amazon.com/Natural-Chemistry ... +phos+free

Is this something I should plan on adding weekly forever? If I get good a better understanding of my pool chemistry and keep the levels good, would that take care of the algae on its own or will I always need an extra product like this since I have constant leaves in my pool?

Thanks.
    27,300 gallons / IG / Plaster / Spa / Taylor K-2006

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Phos Free Pool Cleaner to keep algae away

If you maintain adequate FC levels depending on your stabilizer level (CYA), then there is no need to worry about the phosphate levels.

Read up in Pool School (button at the upper right of the page) to get a better undertanding of the chemistry.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

3. Back To Top    #3

If you keep your levels balanced, there is no reason to ever use PhosFree. Chlorine alone is more than capable of preventing algae. You have to add chlorine anyway. With only a little attention to keeping your FC levels appropriate, there is no need to spend any money on phosphate removal.