Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: 0 FC after adding so much bleach?

1. Back To Top    #1

0 FC after adding so much bleach?

Help! I am fairly new at this. I keep getting a green pool. I keep adding lots of bleach and I keep having lots of problems! Two days ago I tested 0 FC, so I added almost 1000 oz of bleach trying to kill the algae and have a higher FC. Today I tested:

FC 0
    Ph 8.2
    TA 110
    CYA 38

How could I have 0 FC and still have algae after adding so much bleach 2 days ago?????? What do you suggest? I know I am going to add 39oz of muriatic acid to adjust the pH. Is that causing my problem?
    Kacreech
    20,000 (I think)
    sand
    IG
    vinyl
    I don't know filter rate

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: 0 FC after adding so much bleach?

Pool store testing numbers I presume? What does your water look like? Just "hitting it once" with a big dose of bleach doesn't mean much. It could easily be consumed. Shocking is a process to be maintained till done. Back up and read pool school a couple of times for a better understanding of the "process". Your Ph is high, but not the problem-your green algae is.
    16x32x52" Steel Cornelius Miramar AGP Vinyl liner 13,100 gal. Buried 2 ft.
    2 Speed Hayward Power-Flo Matrix 85 g.p.m. 22" 250lb. sand filter hard plumbed
    Pool Rover Jr., Pool Blaster Max, Diver Dave TF100 Test Kit/Speed Stir
    Margaritaville Frozen Concoction Maker, Liqour Chiller, & Drink Mixer & Party Tub----Collect 'um all!

3. Back To Top    #3