Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: You guys have seen this before, Autopilot DIG-220 error msg

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    47

    You guys have seen this before, Autopilot DIG-220 error msg

    My SWG is 5 ohio pool seasons old. Getting a variety of error messages this year since I opened the pool. I am getting the Purifier OFF! No flow. Also getting the Warning bad temp sensor and sometimes getting the add salt xxx lbs.

    Flow is strong, clear valve seems to be working fine. Screen is clear. Removed tri-sensor, looks like new. Did not clean with acid solution yet. Salt cell looks great also. Read something about pushing the boost and recording the cell numbers. It says 0 volts and 11.4 amps, salt of 100 and temp 0. I think I have seen other numbers show as well(inconsistent results). Looking for advice on what to try, I read maybe tri-sensor or cable, or even worse.....

    Thanks as always for your help,

    Chuck
    16X24X40 Grecian L Vinyl Pool - Dig 9/4/2007 and first swim 9/21/2007
    Located in Ohio Approx 27K gallons
    Pentair Whisperflow 1 HP 2-speed Pump
    Hayward Sand Filter Jandy AE2500 Heat Pump
    Autopilot Dig-220 w/sc-60 cell

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    47

    Re: You guys have seen this before, Autopilot DIG-220 error

    BUMP
    16X24X40 Grecian L Vinyl Pool - Dig 9/4/2007 and first swim 9/21/2007
    Located in Ohio Approx 27K gallons
    Pentair Whisperflow 1 HP 2-speed Pump
    Hayward Sand Filter Jandy AE2500 Heat Pump
    Autopilot Dig-220 w/sc-60 cell

  3. Back To Top    #3
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: You guys have seen this before, Autopilot DIG-220 error

    Several of those symptoms suggest a bad connection somewhere between the control unit and the tri-sensor. I would disconnect and reconnect the tri-sensor cable at the control unit, and also follow the cable along to the tri-sensor and make sure it isn't cut or badly nicked anywhere along the cable. Most likely something will turn up when you do that, though there are some other less likely possibilities.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    47

    Re: You guys have seen this before, Autopilot DIG-220 error

    First, thanks for the response.... Cable has been disconnected and reconnected from both ends several times with no change in behavior. Cable physically appears ok. Is it possible to test the sensor or the cable to determine which is bad?
    16X24X40 Grecian L Vinyl Pool - Dig 9/4/2007 and first swim 9/21/2007
    Located in Ohio Approx 27K gallons
    Pentair Whisperflow 1 HP 2-speed Pump
    Hayward Sand Filter Jandy AE2500 Heat Pump
    Autopilot Dig-220 w/sc-60 cell

  5. Back To Top    #5
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: You guys have seen this before, Autopilot DIG-220 error

    I believe that there are instructions on checking with a multi-meter in this post.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    47

    Re: You guys have seen this before, Autopilot DIG-220 error

    I used a mirror to inspect the pins, all is good. I read on a post about the wire maybe getting hot or something and a goo coming out? I don't recall seeing this on my cable before. Any thoughts on this? Also read about sensor being perfectly perpendicular, I thought that could be it since I remove the entire manifold and bring inside each winter, but that wasn't it either.

    The cut in the plug is shallow, just cosmetic, definatley is not a problem.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    16X24X40 Grecian L Vinyl Pool - Dig 9/4/2007 and first swim 9/21/2007
    Located in Ohio Approx 27K gallons
    Pentair Whisperflow 1 HP 2-speed Pump
    Hayward Sand Filter Jandy AE2500 Heat Pump
    Autopilot Dig-220 w/sc-60 cell

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    47

    Re: You guys have seen this before, Autopilot DIG-220 error

    Ok, removed manifold for 3rd time, reconnected cable for 22nd time, and it decides to work???? We will see, sounds from other posts as it may be short lived but it will save me some bleach at least for awhile! I will update if it fails again!
    16X24X40 Grecian L Vinyl Pool - Dig 9/4/2007 and first swim 9/21/2007
    Located in Ohio Approx 27K gallons
    Pentair Whisperflow 1 HP 2-speed Pump
    Hayward Sand Filter Jandy AE2500 Heat Pump
    Autopilot Dig-220 w/sc-60 cell

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    47

    Re: You guys have seen this before, Autopilot DIG-220 error

    Of course, check it today and light is flashing same messages again.
    16X24X40 Grecian L Vinyl Pool - Dig 9/4/2007 and first swim 9/21/2007
    Located in Ohio Approx 27K gallons
    Pentair Whisperflow 1 HP 2-speed Pump
    Hayward Sand Filter Jandy AE2500 Heat Pump
    Autopilot Dig-220 w/sc-60 cell

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Ft Lauderdale, Florida
    Posts
    1,455

    Re: You guys have seen this before, Autopilot DIG-220 error

    Seems pretty consistent that your cord is bad. Please replace the tri-sensor and cord assembly, as it only comes as a single unit now. Part number is APA0003
    Sean Assam - Sean@teamhorner.com
    National Accounts and Commercial Products Manager
    AquaCal Heat Pumps www.aquacal.com
    AutoPilot Salt Chlorine Generators www.autopilot.com

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    47

    Re: You guys have seen this before, Autopilot DIG-220 error

    Thanks Sean. I was hoping you would respond. I will order now.
    16X24X40 Grecian L Vinyl Pool - Dig 9/4/2007 and first swim 9/21/2007
    Located in Ohio Approx 27K gallons
    Pentair Whisperflow 1 HP 2-speed Pump
    Hayward Sand Filter Jandy AE2500 Heat Pump
    Autopilot Dig-220 w/sc-60 cell

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Ft Lauderdale, Florida
    Posts
    1,455

    Re: You guys have seen this before, Autopilot DIG-220 error

    : ) Glad to help.
    Sean Assam - Sean@teamhorner.com
    National Accounts and Commercial Products Manager
    AquaCal Heat Pumps www.aquacal.com
    AutoPilot Salt Chlorine Generators www.autopilot.com

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    47

    Re: You guys have seen this before, Autopilot DIG-220 error

    Ok, replaced cable and trisensor. Warning light is off but it is not producing chlorine. Test says salt at 2900, add 22 lbs. temp 84. Cell 0 volts 11.4 amps. Any ideas? I can't hear the fans running like I think I used to hear. It has been at 100% since I replaced 3 days ago.
    16X24X40 Grecian L Vinyl Pool - Dig 9/4/2007 and first swim 9/21/2007
    Located in Ohio Approx 27K gallons
    Pentair Whisperflow 1 HP 2-speed Pump
    Hayward Sand Filter Jandy AE2500 Heat Pump
    Autopilot Dig-220 w/sc-60 cell

  13. Back To Top    #13
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: You guys have seen this before, Autopilot DIG-220 error

    What mode do you have the DIG-220 Pump Control setting set to? Also, is the pump run by the timer in the DIG-220, or do you have an external timer?
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  14. Back To Top    #14

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    47

    Re: You guys have seen this before, Autopilot DIG-220 error

    I can't get into the installer menu. Trying to hold select as manual say be it does not work. WhAt screen shoul I be on when doing that???? Also noticed it thinks I have sc-48 cell and I have sc-60.
    16X24X40 Grecian L Vinyl Pool - Dig 9/4/2007 and first swim 9/21/2007
    Located in Ohio Approx 27K gallons
    Pentair Whisperflow 1 HP 2-speed Pump
    Hayward Sand Filter Jandy AE2500 Heat Pump
    Autopilot Dig-220 w/sc-60 cell

  15. Back To Top    #15

    In the Industry

    JoshU's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    New Orleans, LA
    Posts
    541

    Re: You guys have seen this before, Autopilot DIG-220 error

    Quote Originally Posted by chuck1971
    I can't get into the installer menu. Trying to hold select as manual say be it does not work. WhAt screen shoul I be on when doing that???? Also noticed it thinks I have sc-48 cell and I have sc-60.
    The "SELECT" button needs to be held down for 13 seconds once "INSTALLER MENU" is displayed.

    You will want to adjust the system to SC-60 once inside of the installer menu using the "Set Cell Type" menu.
    Josh Ulfers - josh@saltpoolguys.com - 888-725-8766
    SaltPoolGuys.com - AutoPilot Pool Pilot Systems, Parts & Cells - AquaCal Heat Pumps

  16. Back To Top    #16

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    47

    Re: You guys have seen this before, Autopilot DIG-220 error

    Josh, thanks, not sure what I was doing wrong, but it worked this morning.

    OK, I change the cell to sc-60. It still shows the same 0 volts, 11.4 amps. The pump config is set to Remote runs pump. I have no clue what it has always been set to. I have a 2 speed pump, that I run on low 24 hours a day, so I do not have any sort of timer attached to my system.
    16X24X40 Grecian L Vinyl Pool - Dig 9/4/2007 and first swim 9/21/2007
    Located in Ohio Approx 27K gallons
    Pentair Whisperflow 1 HP 2-speed Pump
    Hayward Sand Filter Jandy AE2500 Heat Pump
    Autopilot Dig-220 w/sc-60 cell

  17. Back To Top    #17
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: You guys have seen this before, Autopilot DIG-220 error

    Change the setting to External Timer and it should start working. Remote Runs Pump is used when the DIG-220 is connected to an automation system, it waits for the automation system to tell it to turn on. No automation system is present, so it won't turn on.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  18. Back To Top    #18

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    47

    Re: You guys have seen this before, Autopilot DIG-220 error

    You guys are awesome!!! Switched the pump setting and it started working. No idea how it got changed. I can here the fans running again... So, I did this last night. Checked it earlier today still good. just went out and it had the check/clean cell. did a Test system and it sowed 16v 3a. Turned off and on system. Check cell warning off for moment and says 26v 5.6a. Should i get numbers all over the board for the cell like that?

    Chuck
    16X24X40 Grecian L Vinyl Pool - Dig 9/4/2007 and first swim 9/21/2007
    Located in Ohio Approx 27K gallons
    Pentair Whisperflow 1 HP 2-speed Pump
    Hayward Sand Filter Jandy AE2500 Heat Pump
    Autopilot Dig-220 w/sc-60 cell

  19. Back To Top    #19

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Ft Lauderdale, Florida
    Posts
    1,455

    Re: You guys have seen this before, Autopilot DIG-220 error

    it's important to press the BOOST button and let it run for at least 30 seconds before running the TEST POOL PILOT. The reason is that the cell takes a while for the power to ramp up to full output. If you run the test without the boost mode, it's possible to get readings as it's still ramping up, or not powered up a all.
    Sean Assam - Sean@teamhorner.com
    National Accounts and Commercial Products Manager
    AquaCal Heat Pumps www.aquacal.com
    AutoPilot Salt Chlorine Generators www.autopilot.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •