Clueless Newbie here

May 8, 2013
Hi guys,
I've just opened my brand new pool - its a salt water IG w vinyl liner 14x28.
Salt was thrown into the pool last Thursday (May2) however the heating was only conencted on Mon (May6).
I have heated the pool to 82degs since Monday.

Last night I got home - the kids had been swimming all afternoon and I noticed the water was cloudy. I went to check the salt system / chlorinator but it was not reading. The flow line was not connected. I connected it and there appeared to be a chemical reaction in the pool. This morning, the salt reading was 4500 and pool was still cloudy.

Any ideas on what I should do. I realise its only been 12 hours since I connected the chlorinator.

Thanks
T

Do you have a test kit? Your pool needs chlorine ASAP, it's not sanitary. You've had 3+ days of no chlorine.

On a side note i grew up swimming in the lake so no chlorine wouldn't freak me out or anything but i'd be going to the store to get some bleach (chlorine) in that pool.

Glad you are here, you've got a lot to read up on, all available in this sites Pool School which you can access at the top right of this page.

trevsand said:
Hi guys,
I've just opened my brand new pool - its a salt water IG w vinyl liner 14x28.
Salt was thrown into the pool last Thursday (May2) however the heating was only conencted on Mon (May6).
I have heated the pool to 82degs since Monday.

Last night I got home - the kids had been swimming all afternoon and I noticed the water was cloudy. I went to check the salt system / chlorinator but it was not reading. The flow line was not connected. I connected it and there appeared to be a chemical reaction in the pool. This morning, the salt reading was 4500 and pool was still cloudy.

Any ideas on what I should do. I realise its only been 12 hours since I connected the chlorinator.

Thanks
T
I would add about 3 qts of 8.25% Chlorox bleach right now.