Pump Timer Combined with SWCG

RyanH

May 6, 2013
Kentucky
I have a 1.5 horsepower pump that is currently running 24 / 7. I am concerned with the amount of electricity it is using and am considering getting a timer to turn it on and off daily. The problem is I am also running a new SWCG and of course it only works when the pump is running.

So my question is, if I do get a timer when should it run? Should I run it all night when the chlorine isn't being "eaten" by the sun or should I run it during the day when people are swimming so the water stays cycled? Or am I crazy and it needs to run all day and night to keep up with the demands of creating chlorine and cycling the water?

This is my first time being a pool owner so I'm not sure how much electricity this will actually use. I did look at the previous owner's electricity bills and they were quite high during the summer. I am hoping that was because of too much AC use and not from the pool. However, after doing some research it seems 1.5 hp is quite large for a pump and it may be expensive.

Any advice is appreciated.

We recommend an average of 8-12 hours of run time - the pool needs at least one turnover of water per day. A pump that size will do that in 8-12 hours I'm sure. You can set the timer to run 4 hours during the day and the remainder in the evening/night. You do want daytime run time, helps avoid FC "dead spots" in pools.

Certainly there is no need to be running the large pump 24/7 and a timer is the answer.

It does not matter if you run at night or in the day too much. It can be beneficial for skimmer purposed to run multiple short periods spread over the day (maybe 3 period of 3 hours, etc).

The power to the SWG should also come off of the timer to ensure it can not come on without the pump.

Also, when you reduce the run time, you will need to increase the SWG output % to maintain the correct FC level.

Post up a full set of test results and we can see where you are at.