Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: green pool fixing underway...

1. Back To Top    #1

green pool fixing underway...

Hi all,
    totally new to the forum. Hi! I have a horrible green algae problem. Pinch a penny is my store. The recommended I dump in 4 jugs of chlorine 1st. 2nd, add a Suncoast All in One Algaecide. 3rd add 4 more jugs.
    Well steps one and two are completed. The pool is no longer green, but it is still just as murky (looks like i dumped in a tub of DE but its a canister filter) My question is, should i add 4 more jugs, will that really clear it? I'm no pro, but i'm imagining having to use a clarifier or a flocculant. I am TOTALLY new to a canister filter too. DE was so easy compared to this.
    Thanks for the help!
    Freemachinist
    30K gallons. IG Plaster. 1.5 hp pump. 1200 sq ft cartridge filter @ 120 gpm.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: green pool fixing underway...

Welcome to TFP!

We're gonna need a full set of test results to help you along. Don't buy any more miracle chemicals. Our preferred miracle chemical for shocking is plain old bleach! Read pool school a couple of times and consider ordering one of the test kits if you truly want to take control of your own pool. Go to user control panel/ Profile/ signature line and give us your pool specifics so everyone will know.
    16x32x52" Steel Cornelius Miramar AGP Vinyl liner 13,100 gal. Buried 2 ft.
    2 Speed Hayward Power-Flo Matrix 85 g.p.m. 22" 250lb. sand filter hard plumbed
    Pool Rover Jr., Pool Blaster Max, Diver Dave TF100 Test Kit/Speed Stir
    Margaritaville Frozen Concoction Maker, Liqour Chiller, & Drink Mixer & Party Tub----Collect 'um all!

3. Back To Top    #3

It's getting late might not get detailed response tonight, but might I suggest readin Pool School which is a link in top right corner of every page. It will answer all of your questions and those you didn't even know you had
    18'x43' Sport Pool