Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: A double dose of sink or swim

1. Back To Top    #1

A double dose of sink or swim

Hello everyone.

My wife and I just bought a house that has a spa and pool. I have no experience with either one- I told her "what I know about spas and pools you could put in a thimble and still have room for your finger"...hence my name. I have experience with plumbing systems and am comfortable with performing measurements, interpreting results and using data to apply corrective measures- so I don't feel intimidated by either setup, just no experience. I have read a lot on this forum and have already found a wealth of information...this place is GREAT ! The learning curve is pretty steep for a newb, but what I have read here has already helped a lot.

We haven't started up the pool yet, still a little early- but it won't be more than 2-3 weeks away. The previous owner told me he would come over and show me the ropes. I hope he follows through on his offer. I drained and refilled the spa and think it is doing fairly well- at least our skin hasn't fallen off or turned a weird color. Test strips show all parameters to be within limits. Reading here, it looks like I could use a better test kit, so I think one is in my immediate future.

A little about what I have that I can relate so far (and that isn't a whole lot- we haven't even taken the cover off the pool)-
    15x30 ft in ground pool- don't know if it is plaster or vinyl. I think plaster, but not sure.
    sand filter
    salt water system
    no heater

spa-
    7 foot square
    350-400 gallon
    ozone generator

I look forward to learning more by doing lots of reading here. As a rule, I'm not a huge participant in threads- I tend to shut up and listen rather than talk. I will post more about the pool when I find out about it.

Thanks again for the sharing of all this information- it will become a place I visit daily.

Mike