Confused

DJ1962

Apr 21, 2013
Humble, Texas
Ok i think I narrowed my pool selection down to Intex 22x54 or 12x24x54 I would like some feedback on the benefits of round over rectangle or vice a verse this pool will be used by my twin 7 year old girls, my wife and myself. Also I am a little cconfused on prepping the surface, do I use sand to level or just a small layer for comfort and does anyone have step by step pictures that show me the proccess..I am a total novice and will call you guys for more help so thanks in advance.

Round pools are usually larger than rectangular/oval pools so you'll get more swimmable space in a round pool.

You never want to use sand to level off an area that the pool will sit on. Pull all the sod off the area and dig down into the earth to level the area. You never want to build up or add a lot of sand. It will shift and take your pool with it!

As for how much sand to use under the pool, an inch or 2 is plenty enough to provide comfort. And you will need a solid surface (pavers) for the pool legs to set on, leveled the whole way around the pool give or take 1/4"-1" out of level. Anything more could be dangerous.

Leveling the pool site is the most important step in pool construction!

Great advice from Casey! :goodjob:

Since you are a novice, you'll find lots of information in our Pool School section. It is important that you get a handle on the water balance, testing procedures, and the like. It is also very important that you have a high quality test kit. Without an accurate drop-based kit, you can only guess at what's really happening in your water. I would suggest that you pick up a TF-100 through tftestkits.net. The kit is the best value out there and you cannot get it in stores.