Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Chlorine

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Chlorine

    Even Leslie's Pool Supply can't help me. All of my values are perfect (ph, CYA, alkaline, calcium) except Chlorine. The free and the total both read 0 despite shocking the pool only a couple of hours ago. No matter what I do, I can't seem to get a chlorine reading. I have tablets in both skimmer baskets and I have shocked with two different kinds. But there is absolutely no chlorine in there despite the water being perfectly clear. Any ideas?

  2. Back To Top    #2
    linen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Twin Cities, MN
    Posts
    8,649

    Re: Chlorine

    Welcome to tfp, skilrain

    What test are you using to test for chlorine? If you haven't tried it yet, try testing with the OTO chlorine test...this is the one that is typically attached to the ph block...it is more fool proof then other tests in at least indicating the presence of chlorine.

    How does your water look?

    Also, please post the rest of your test results for us to be most efficient.
    TFP Expert who uses Pool School and my TF100 test kit along with PoolMath for my: Round 11K gallon AGP with deep end, 20" sand filter, Matrix 1hp 2spd, 6 2ftX20ft solar panels (and solar cover!), Intex SWCG (copper bars disconnected) and a Rubadub hot tub (chlorine). The SLAM process is not finished until: 1. CC < 0.5 ppm, 2. An OCLT < 1.0 ppm and, 3. The water is crystal clear.

  3. Back To Top    #3
    Richard320's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    San Dimas, CA (LA County)
    Posts
    18,768

    Re: Chlorine

    Welcome.

    "Perfect" is an imprecise value. Especially if the pool store clerk pronounced your water as such. Spend a while reading these forums and you'll soon discover that 1) Pool Store testing is at best, doubtful, and 2) Pool stores are in business to sell treatments, not give away testing. Have they tried to push any phosphate removers, algaecides, or other snake oils on you yet?

    I find it hard to believe that a pool that has been dosed with pucks and powders will have "perfect" CYA. Typically, CYA is too high, which means the chlorine level has to be much higher to be effective - far above the center of the color block scale most test kits have. What kind of test kit do you have? Anyway, if the chlorine isn't high enough, algae can get started. You may be holding it at bay, but not killing it off faster than it can reproduce, which uses up all your chlorine, which is why you can't get a reading. And one day soon you may notice the water looking cloudy, and shortly thereafter, green.

    Have you done any reading in Pool School?
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.
    A pool is like a pet - you have to feed it every day, even the days you don't want to play with it!

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Mod Squad woodyp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    East Texas
    Posts
    9,004

    Re: Chlorine

    How much of what type chlorine did you add to."shock" the pool?
    16x32x52" Steel Cornelius Miramar AGP Vinyl liner 13,100 gal. Buried 2 ft.
    2 Speed Hayward Power-Flo Matrix 85 g.p.m. 22" 250lb. sand filter hard plumbed
    Pool Rover Jr., Pool Blaster Max, Diver Dave TF100 Test Kit/Speed Stir
    Margaritaville Frozen Concoction Maker, Liqour Chiller, & Drink Mixer & Party Tub----Collect 'um all!

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Re: Chlorine

    I have a 19,000 gallon liner pool. I added 3 lbs of Power Plus Shock. Leslie's tested the water after I tested it because I didn't understand the Chlorine being zero. I have the side-by-side kind of tester. I cannot test for CYA. Leslie's did not try to sell me anything. They were just as confused as I am. They suggested that perhaps I have nitrates in the pool causing the chlorine to get used up and that maybe if I shocked it until the Chlorine read, I might have luck.

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Re: Chlorine

    The pool was never shut down over the winter. We just bought the house 2 months ago. The water has been crystal clear the entire time. I have tried shocking it 3 times and have had chlorine tabs in the skimmers the entire time. I have never gotten a chlorine reading. In our last home, we had a pool for the past decade and had no issues at all except an occasional algae bloom when the water got up to 95 or so.

  7. Back To Top    #7
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,347

    Re: Chlorine

    It all boils down to you're going to have to have a good test kit of your own. However take 2 large jugs of bleach and pour them into the pool then wait 30 mins and test the chlorine with your tester. Don't worry much about the value just if it turns some shade of yellow. Post back what you find.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Re: Chlorine

    I poured 2 jugs of bleach into the pool and measured the chlorine after 45 minutes. It reads 5.

  9. Back To Top    #9
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,347

    Re: Chlorine

    With the kit you have we don't know if you have fc or CC's you should get a good test kit and take control of your pool.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Re: Chlorine

    My kit is a DPD with all the necessary ability to test chlorine levels. So I don't think it's the test kit's problem, but thanks anyway. I have run a perfectly good pool for 10 years without this issue ever coming up. I was just looking for some outside advice from folks who may have come across this before. I certainly didn't need someone to tell me to "take control of my pool". So thanks anyway. I'm sure I will figure it all out by myself, despite the pea brain you seem to think I have.

  11. Back To Top    #11
    Richard320's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    San Dimas, CA (LA County)
    Posts
    18,768

    Re: Chlorine

    Quote Originally Posted by skilrain
    My kit is a DPD with all the necessary ability to test chlorine levels. So I don't think it's the test kit's problem, but thanks anyway. I have run a perfectly good pool for 10 years without this issue ever coming up. I was just looking for some outside advice from folks who may have come across this before. I certainly didn't need someone to tell me to "take control of my pool". So thanks anyway. I'm sure I will figure it all out by myself, despite the pea brain you seem to think I have.
    We HAVE come across this before, and it's usually astronomical CYA or things broke down into Ammonia over the winter, which requires a lot of chlorine to get rid of it.

    Some test numbers would help narrow it down.

    Buh-bye
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.
    A pool is like a pet - you have to feed it every day, even the days you don't want to play with it!

  12. Back To Top    #12
    linen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Twin Cities, MN
    Posts
    8,649

    Re: Chlorine

    We are just here to help, so bear with us...we don't have all the details of your pool that you do.

    So you have the DPD test kit, what is your CC level?

    Be aware the that the DPD test kit can only test up to 5 ppm FC (or 10 ppm FC in some test kits). Also, the DPD test can sometimes indicate 0 FC when the FC is quite high, which is why I asked if you had an OTO chlorine test, since that test is more bulletproof and will indicate the presence of chlorine even at high FC levels (though it will not give an accurate number at high chlorine levels).

    Let us know if you want more help
    TFP Expert who uses Pool School and my TF100 test kit along with PoolMath for my: Round 11K gallon AGP with deep end, 20" sand filter, Matrix 1hp 2spd, 6 2ftX20ft solar panels (and solar cover!), Intex SWCG (copper bars disconnected) and a Rubadub hot tub (chlorine). The SLAM process is not finished until: 1. CC < 0.5 ppm, 2. An OCLT < 1.0 ppm and, 3. The water is crystal clear.

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Re: Chlorine

    FC is now .5 while CC is at 1. The sun has been down for quite some time and the FC has decreased by too much already for the OCLT, so I will shock again. My CYA test kit should arrive any day now so I can check for that. The pool store said it was in range, but they didn't know my pool gets full sun all day. Thank you for the help.

  14. Back To Top    #14
    linen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Twin Cities, MN
    Posts
    8,649

    Re: Chlorine

    Quote Originally Posted by skilrain
    My CYA test kit should arrive any day now so I can check for that. The pool store said it was in range, but they didn't know my pool gets full sun all day.
    It is great that you are getting that test kit, pool stores get cya more wrong than right and knowing your cya level is very important, especially for you now since you need to do the shocking process.

    In addition getting the FAS-DPD chlorine test is also an important test to have. It can measure all the way up to 50 ppm FC unlike the the DPD test you have that can only go up to 5 ppm (10 for a few kits).

    We would also recommend getting TA and CH tests since at some point you will need those results too.
    TFP Expert who uses Pool School and my TF100 test kit along with PoolMath for my: Round 11K gallon AGP with deep end, 20" sand filter, Matrix 1hp 2spd, 6 2ftX20ft solar panels (and solar cover!), Intex SWCG (copper bars disconnected) and a Rubadub hot tub (chlorine). The SLAM process is not finished until: 1. CC < 0.5 ppm, 2. An OCLT < 1.0 ppm and, 3. The water is crystal clear.

  15. Back To Top    #15
    dmanb2b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    3,728

    Re: Chlorine

    Quote Originally Posted by skilrain
    FC is now .5 while CC is at 1. The sun has been down for quite some time and the FC has decreased by too much already for the OCLT, so I will shock again. My CYA test kit should arrive any day now so I can check for that. The pool store said it was in range, but they didn't know my pool gets full sun all day. Thank you for the help.

    Welcome to TFP. With CC at 1ppm, it time to go through a shock process. Notice we use the word process as shocking your pool is a procedure not a product. Once you get a good read on your CYA level you will be able to determine your shock FC level.

    Below are some quick links to pool school articles that should help and as you go through the process, please feel free to ask any questions you may have

    pool-school/shocking_your_pool

    pool-school/overnight_fc_test

    Also, as you may have noticed..we really like to see test results, as it helps us guide you vs guessing at what the problem may be, below is a handy article we prefer all new members to understand. We are here to help.

    pool-school/read_before_you_post
    24'x52" AGP (13,500 Gallons), Intex SWG, (2)Solar Bear 4x20 panels, Hayward S220T Filter, 1/2hp Pentair Superflo

    Pool School, TFTestKits, Pool Calculator

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •