Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Pool install complete - electrical?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    49

    Pool install complete - electrical?

    Pool was installed Monday. Now I'm overwhelmed with what to do next. We still need electricity at the pool site. How long can I wait until I start the pump and filter? Should I go ahead and run an extension cord until we can get an electrician out here? Someone told me using an extension cord would "burn up the pump." If it's only for a week, wouldn't that be okay?
    Also, the electrician I spoke with said I only need to bond the water - with an attachment at the skimmer. My research had led me to believe I needed wire circling the pool and attached at 4 points. Now I'm confused about the bonding.

    Pool looks great, but there is still so much to do. I had no idea the installer would leave my yard in such a wreck. Wish I had a Bobcat so I could smooth all that dirt out. Also, it looks like I will need some sort of retaining wall or french drain around the high side of the pool.

    Thanks in advance for any info/advice about the electrical.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Sharkline Matrix 28', Pentair SD80 sand filter, Pentair Optiflo 1hp/2spd pump, Intellichlor ic40 (installed 7/2013)

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Re: Pool install complete - electrical?

    I'm a total noob so take this info with a grain...

    Mine has been on a heavy duty cord for a few weeks while I'm building the deck. I check the cord often for heat and its fine. Of course this depends on how long of a run, mine is short. You need to get it running though if its full of water. If no water, then just cover it and wait.

    As for the bobcat, you can rent one for not all that much money...just be careful. They can tear up some realestate in a hurry!

    My pool has a high side as well and the installer recommended I backfill with loose fill so it would always drain and not have standing mosture against the pool walls.

    ...and YES, there is a lot to do. Go look at my thread with the deck construction pictures. I HAVE to have it ready by May 26th for my daughters birthday and I feel like I am setting myself up for failure.

    Good luck and keep us posted.
    Swim 'N Play Deluxe 8000 15 x 30 (buttress free, vinyl)
    13,500 gallons
    Hayward horse and a half pump
    Hayward sand filter

  3. Back To Top    #3
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,347

    Re: Pool install complete - electrical?

    If you make sure it's a 12 ga cord and it's not terribly long you should be ok to run it intermittently. At least enough to keep it circulated and add whatever chems you need to.

    Some municipalities don't require bonding at 4 places on an aboveground pool because of the vinyl liner being classed non-conductive (however, it's still a good idea to do it). If you have a permit for the electrical installation I'd ask the inspector what the rule is because they're the ones you're going to have to satisfy. It will also need to bond the pump and any other metallic part that contacts the pool water (swg, heater, etc.).
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Gardiner, ME
    Posts
    165

    Re: Pool install complete - electrical?

    Were lucky... I need a permit for the pool that is free, the deck is costing me 5$ for the permit, no requirements other than "The pool wall must be 48 inches or taller from the ground or it needs to be fenced in" other than that the inspector said "I dont care what ya do"
    24 ft Sharkline Matrix AG
    Waterway 1HP 2SPD Sand Filter 100lb sand capacity, using 50lb of ZeoSand
    TAYLOR K-2006 test kit.
    Installed Spring 2013
    16x16 Deck Going up Soon.

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    49

    Re: Pool install complete - electrical?

    I'd estimate it is 100 ft. from the pump to the nearest electric outlet. How does the distance effect the pump and it's efficacy?
    Sharkline Matrix 28', Pentair SD80 sand filter, Pentair Optiflo 1hp/2spd pump, Intellichlor ic40 (installed 7/2013)

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Re: Pool install complete - electrical?

    The longer the electrical run, the more voltage drop you are going to have. You can get a cheap multimeter (free with coupon at harbor freight sometimes) and test the voltage at the end of the cord. I don't know how many amps the pump pulls but you'll need to consider that too. I'm guessing a single 12 guage 100 ft cord would be all right for a temporary solution. Your next option is 10 guage which is really pricey and heavy. As mentioned, check the cord for heat and I would run just long enough to mix chemicals around.

  7. Back To Top    #7
    jkurl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Fairfield, ca
    Posts
    141

    Re: Pool install complete - electrical?

    I would look at using something like this incase your outside outlet for some reason it's not a GFCI.
    http://m.lowes.com/product?langId=-1&st ... iew=detail

    It is a outdoor GFCI. I use one of those when I brew beer for my transfer pumps. Kind of expensive but worth every penny and will give you protection at the same time.
    Pool Size: 20 x 40 Free Form Inground Plaster Pool w/ a shallow cove.
    Gallons : ~23K Jandy CL580 Cartridge Filter, Jandy e-pump 1.5HP
    Polaris 280 w/ Booster Pump, AqualinkRS PDA4 Remote, Aqua-Pure SWG
    Jandy LED Pool Lights (2), Heliocol 500 Sq. Ft solar rack system

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Isaac-1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    SW Louisiana
    Posts
    6,711

    Re: Pool install complete - electrical?

    Your signature says you have a 2 speed pump, I would suggest running it on low if on an extension cord, and I also agree you need a 12 Ga or larger (lower number) cord at 100 ft. The problem is the cord acts like a bottle neck for the electricity to get through and when a motor is starting up it draws a lot more power than while running and this can cause a voltage dip which can cause the motor to partly stall and potentially burn out. The longer the cord or line is the greater the effect, this is why outlets that are farther from your breaker box may use thicker wire than ones that are closer even if they have the same amp rating.

    Ike

    p.s. the cheapest places I have found for heavy contractor grade extension cords is Lowes or Amazon
    Indoor 20x40 35,000 gallon vinyl pool with 1.5 HP 2 speed Jandy FloPro pump, Hayward EC75 Perflex DE filter, 11 4x12 Techno-Solis solar panels w/ Aquasolar controller, Aquabot Turbo T Robot Cleaner. Also LMI metering chlorine dispenser pump and HotSpring Jetsetter
    I use and endorse TFtestKits TF-100 from http://tftestkits.net
    ~Remember TFP counts on your donations to keep this site ad free~

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    49

    Re: Pool install complete - electrical?

    I am going to get a 12 ga. 100 ft. extension cord at Home Depot (about $70). I'll only need to run the pump on it for 3 days because the electrician is supposed to be here Monday to install the outlet. The pool already has crud floating in it and it's making me anxious.

    This pool install is turning out to be a huge learning project – all things that are new to me. My head feels packed with new knowledge.
    Sharkline Matrix 28', Pentair SD80 sand filter, Pentair Optiflo 1hp/2spd pump, Intellichlor ic40 (installed 7/2013)

  10. Back To Top    #10
    Casey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    SW PA
    Posts
    10,157

    Re: Pool install complete - electrical?

    Quote Originally Posted by tjroux
    Were lucky... I need a permit for the pool that is free, the deck is costing me 5$ for the permit, no requirements other than "The pool wall must be 48 inches or taller from the ground or it needs to be fenced in" other than that the inspector said "I dont care what ya do"

    Ooooo! My permit cost us $90.00 and that doesn't include a deck permit which is another $90.00 for when we do it. I don't have to bond and as long as I keep the earth from the pool, I don't need a fence because it's a 54" wall and I have a safety ladder.
    I'd bet you my bikini you'll never get TFP water from a pool store!

    24' Sharkline Venture De Filter

  11. Back To Top    #11
    4knights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    NE Kansas
    Posts
    416

    Re: Pool install complete - electrical?

    The pipe looks like its possibly a few different things
    A French drain as you stated-bad if it was needed due to soil conditions and should be repaired.
    A drain possibly connected to your gutter system to drain water away from house- should be repaired same reason
    Worst case- its a lateral line for a septic system- very bad unless the sewer system has been converted to city sewer.
    Best case- left over debris from house build(highly unlikely due to length on pipe)

    I would check with local building department for old permits/ plat map to see what it might be as well as speaking with neighbors who have been around awhile.( amazing the information they seem to know)
    Ron- Kansas. IG fiberglass, Riviera 30 Freeform 13600 gallons,
    EasyTouch 4 w/IC20 SWCG, Pentair Whisperflo 1hp, 2 speed 220 pump, Hayward ProGrid 4820 DE filter using Eco Klean instead of DE, 2 Savi Melody 12v 5 color LEDs, Raypack 266k btu millivolt heater, Arctic Armour Mesh custom safety cover (Total self Install) TF-100 test kit w/Magic stir.

  12. Back To Top    #12

    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Posts
    49

    Re: Pool install complete - electrical?

    @4knights - That old pipe you see in the photo was dug up during the installation - apparently part of an old septic system which hasn't been in use for 20 years.
    Sharkline Matrix 28', Pentair SD80 sand filter, Pentair Optiflo 1hp/2spd pump, Intellichlor ic40 (installed 7/2013)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •