Pool has gone from dark green slimy looking to light green

Apr 16, 2013
Eatonton Georgia
I've had my above ground pool for about four years. it is a Sharkline Reprieve 18 foot diameter 48 inch deep. The first year I had it I had no problems at all keeping the water clear even though I was a complete novice at pool care. Then a couple of years ago, it didn't get covered over the winter because I was having some health issues. It was dark slimy green and it took me forever to get the water to any semblance of clear. What finally did the trick was a product called " Yellow Rid" and shocking the pool per the directions on the yellow rid bottle. Still the water was not ever "sparkling clear" as it once had been. Everything tested well but there was still a very slight cloudiness to the water I could not get rid off.