Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Do I need to Acid Wash, please help

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Los Angeles, Ca
    Posts
    10

    Do I need to Acid Wash, please help

    Long story short, pool was over run with algae, water was dark green and you could not see more than a foot into it, and the plaster was cracked in a couple places. We drained the pool and had a repair guy come to patch the cracks. I pressure washed the pool today and say I got 90% of the dirt and dead stuff off the walls, but there is a lot of staining. Honestly I could care less about the stains and texture of the plaster. Do I need to acid wash the pool to help keep the algae from coming back, or is that just to clean the stains off? Here are some pics, I would like to know what you guys recommend I do before filling it back up....I also noticed lots of spider cracks in the plaster, I know nothing of the history of the pool or how thick the plaster is. My goal is to have it ready for this summer, usable and algea free.
    please any help would be greatly appreciated. I would hate to fill it up just to have a hugh problem fighting algea cuz I didnt acid wash or to have to redrain it again if it keps cracking and I needed a replaster.

    Before:




    After Powerwashing


    Close up of stains and cracks


    35,000 gal., 48 sq ft DE Filter, IG Plaster, I don't know my pump size or flow.
    Attached Spa with waterfall overflow into pool. Hand vacuumed and maintained by me.

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Do I need to Acid Wash, please help

    The acid wash is mainly for stains. To ensure the algae is gone, you will want to go through the shock process when the pool is filled ... making sure to brush where you think there still could be some algae.

    Did you clean behind the light?

    Posted from my Droid with Tapatalk ... sorry if my response is short
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Los Angeles, Ca
    Posts
    10

    Re: Do I need to Acid Wash, please help

    No I did not clean behind the light, I will now though.
    So I can skip the acid wash since I could care less about the stains at this point.
    What about the spider cracks, is there a way to tell when the plaster just needs to be replaced?
    35,000 gal., 48 sq ft DE Filter, IG Plaster, I don't know my pump size or flow.
    Attached Spa with waterfall overflow into pool. Hand vacuumed and maintained by me.

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Do I need to Acid Wash, please help

    Are there chunks of plaster missing? My current house was that way for years. Replastering is often for aesthetics.

    Posted from my Droid with Tapatalk ... sorry if my response is short
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Butterfly's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    10,045

    Re: Do I need to Acid Wash, please help

    The round black spots look like black algae to me. You might want to try to knock off the heads with an algae brush and scrub with a trichlor tablet. It seems it could be easier to kill while exposed.

    You can do a search to find lots more info on black algae.
    TFP Moderator TF100 Test Kit TF100 TestKit YouTube Channel PoolMath
    You're done SLAMing when:
    1)You lose 1ppm or less FC overnight, & 2)You have .5ppm CC's or less, & 3)your water is clear.

    ~ One should not use a sledge hammer to swat a mosquito. ~

    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Los Angeles, Ca
    Posts
    10

    Re: Do I need to Acid Wash, please help

    @jblizzle, I didnt notice any chucks missing, just the spider cracks. Afraid they will spread of get worse and start to leak in the near future or maybe the next earthquake...

    @butterfly, I will look into black algea, I think most the little black dots in the close up photos are just dirt particles. But I will be sure to check them out closly and take care of that before I refill.

    The repair guy is coming back to fix one of the cracks, but is it safe for me to assume that if I dont care about the look of the pool I can just fill it.

    Also does anyone recommend painting the pool?
    35,000 gal., 48 sq ft DE Filter, IG Plaster, I don't know my pump size or flow.
    Attached Spa with waterfall overflow into pool. Hand vacuumed and maintained by me.

  7. Back To Top    #7
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Do I need to Acid Wash, please help

    Paint seems to only last a couple years and then looks worse than what you started with.

    Posted from my Droid with Tapatalk ... sorry if my response is short
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Los Angeles, Ca
    Posts
    10

    Re: Do I need to Acid Wash, please help

    Thanks for all the help
    35,000 gal., 48 sq ft DE Filter, IG Plaster, I don't know my pump size or flow.
    Attached Spa with waterfall overflow into pool. Hand vacuumed and maintained by me.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •