Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Problem with Chlorine Test

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Problem with Chlorine Test

    I added 41 oz of 8.25% bleach last night which according to pool calculator should raise FC to 2.0 from zero. This morning I did the chlorine test on a 25ml sample and even after adding six scoops of powder the water still won't turn pink. The other thing is that the powder just sorts clumps into the bottom of the tube no matter how much I swirl or shake.

    I should add that at the same time the bleach was added, a gallon of acid was added, and 4 lbs stabilizer was added to the skimmer. The aerator and pump have been running all night

    Any ideas?

    Thanks!
    24' AGP, 54" - 13,300 Gallons at 47".
    AquaRay Cleaner
    Hayward Swimpro Voyager Filter/2 Speed 2 HP Pump

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Problem with Chlorine Test

    The water did not turn pink because your have no FC left in the water. 2ppm could be gone very quickly if something is in the water.

    What are the rest of your test results? How does the water look?

    You only may need more than one scoop if your FC is very high., like well above 10ppm.

    Posted from my Droid with Tapatalk ... sorry if my response is short
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Cypress, TX
    Posts
    130

    Re: Problem with Chlorine Test

    You should not need more than one scoop. Also a little clumping is normal. It almost never totally dissolves for me. If your not showing any Cl you might have something growing in your pool that is not visible yet. Was the pump running after you added the chlorine?

    Sorry. Missed the part about running your pump all night.
    23x40 freeform w/spa, 28,000 gal. PCC-2000 in-floor cleaning. Pebble Sheen w/flagstone coping. 14' weeping wall, (2) 18" sheer descents. Sta Rite- cart 400 sqft. filter, Intellipro VS pump, 1hp (cleaning)2hp (water feature)Max E Pro's. Easy Touch 8 function w/IPod. Rainbow chlorinator, Paramount Clear O3 (I know, I know), Max-E-Therm 400K heater.

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,333

    Re: Problem with Chlorine Test

    Use the OTO chlorine test as a check. If there's chlorine in there it it'll turn some color.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  5. Back To Top    #5
    wollerd's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    24

    Re: Problem with Chlorine Test

    Also, on the chlorine test you only use a 10ml sample. You stated a 25ml sample which may have diluted your test.
    St. Louis, MO
    33K gal, IG vinyl, 2.2 SFHP WhisperFlo pump, Tagelus 325# TA-60D 3.1 sqft sand filter (24.5" diameter), MiniMax Plus 400M heater, TigerShark robot

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Re: Problem with Chlorine Test

    I don't have an OTO test. I did resort to the strips and its showing all white (zero ppm). All my other numbers are ok, TA is still high though. Not sure what to do, should I shock?
    24' AGP, 54" - 13,300 Gallons at 47".
    AquaRay Cleaner
    Hayward Swimpro Voyager Filter/2 Speed 2 HP Pump

  7. Back To Top    #7
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Problem with Chlorine Test

    What are all the other test results? What does the water look like?

    Posted from my Droid with Tapatalk ... sorry if my response is short
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Re: Problem with Chlorine Test

    pH 7.4
    TA 225
    Calcium 120
    Chlorine 0
    CYA 0 - 4lbs added last night - first time

    Aerator running since last nights 1 gallon acid.

    Water is crystal clear.
    24' AGP, 54" - 13,300 Gallons at 47".
    AquaRay Cleaner
    Hayward Swimpro Voyager Filter/2 Speed 2 HP Pump

  9. Back To Top    #9

    In the Industry


    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Lynchburg, VA
    Posts
    87

    Re: Problem with Chlorine Test

    Try using the overnight chlorine loss test.
    Check the pool school on how to do this.
    This should tell you if you have a problem like algae in the water,
    Then You will know how to attack it.
    With cya so low the sun may be burning off the cl during the day.

    Just a thought.

    PF
    The Most Interesting Pool Man in The World
    I don't always have clients that want to maintain their pool,
    but when I do, I send them to troublefreepool.com!

  10. Back To Top    #10
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Problem with Chlorine Test

    Personally, I would go straight to shock level, around 12 ppm of chlorine. Something is using up chlorine and you want to take care of it right now rather than risk it getting out of hand. It is probably something trivial, but but better safe than sorry.

    There are lots of possibilities for what it might be. If you lost CYA over the winter there could be ammonia from the broken down CYA in the water that can occasionally take huge amounts of chlorine to clear out. Or it might be a touch of algae that you have already killed off, or algae that is about to get out of hand. There is no way to tell at this point, so I would go for safe rather than sorry.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Re: Problem with Chlorine Test

    It's a brand new pool as of last week. I went ahead and went to shock level, what's the next step?

    Thanks!
    24' AGP, 54" - 13,300 Gallons at 47".
    AquaRay Cleaner
    Hayward Swimpro Voyager Filter/2 Speed 2 HP Pump

  12. Back To Top    #12

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,077

    Re: Problem with Chlorine Test

    what's the next step?
    read "How to Shock Your Pool" up in Pool School. Follow that procedure to completion.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •