Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Newish pool, cloudy water

1. Back To Top    #1

Newish pool, cloudy water

Since I'm new to proper testing (and not the eyeball test I've used for years ) and still finding my feet, what is the general consensus on cloudy water?

My pool was renovated almost 8 weeks ago now.
    White marbellite was used.
    Municipal water was used to fill.
    Left for 21 days without using a pool cleaner.
    Up until Week 6 the water was crystal clear.
    First rain and the pool turned a pale green - shocked and blue again.
    Same story with second rain.
    Water cloudy ever since the first rain.
    Only chlorine used until now.
    Surface clean.
    Pool floor clean.

First chemical tests:

Chlorine < 0.1 ppm (I guess this is the biggest problem!)
    PH > 8.2
    Could not complete an acid demand test
    I decided to shock with chlorine until I get the pH right

Care to hazard a guess as to how I end up resolving this?

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Newish pool, cloudy water

The very first thing to do, certainly before you shock, is to get the PH down to something more reasonable. PH should be between 7.2. and 7.8.

Then, get a complete set of water test results. Ideally you should have your own top quality test kit. Nothing can save you money nearly as easily as knowing all of your water test numbers. Failing that, get test results from a pool store. Without test results it is impossible to say what might be going on.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

3. Back To Top    #3

Forgot to mention I started Pool School as of 5 minutes ago.

Lowering the pH...is that by adding acid? Regards the test kit, pool supplies here in S.A. are very monopolised. Pretty much all I've seen is this kit, which I bought: