Murrieta, CA
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Pentair Intellichlor IC-40
So I just purchased a replacement IC40 cell. My previous cell died in 2011, and I've been using tablets for the last two seasons.

The replacement cell is working nicely so far. My only gripe is that Pentair apparently changed the orientation of the control panel relative to the flow direction. As a result, when the cell is installed, the control panel is upside down.

This is not a huge deal, but I was wondering if it is possible to detach the panel and reinstall it in the opposite orientation.

Anyone know?

Reactions: crismeyer
I looked around some search engines and found this from a year ago:

According to Pentair's customer support line, there is no way to flip the display. The IC40 cell was redesigned to support vertical mounting in which the inlet is at the bottom.

I have no knowledge of pentairs equipment but was curious of how they operate.
That does not mean that is the correct answer ,I would contact Pentair to see if you can get another opinion,
Maybe someone with knowledge of this can jump in and help you out
You usually get the best answers here.

Bama Rambler said:
Post a picture of the installation. It sounds like you have installed wrong for the new cell.

I'll see if I can get to posting a picture later. As of now, it is installed and it is working properly. I'm quite certain that I installed it properly. I oriented the cell per the flow arrows and the internal flow switch.

Now, I bought this cell off of ebay, so it *is* possible that this is from a batch of cells that had the panel improperly installed at the time of manufacturing. However, the cell matches all the photos in the new manual. It is also clearly reversed from my previous cell, manufactured in February 2008.

Anyhow, it doesn't matter too much, so long as it works. It's just something of a minor inconvenience when it comes to checking the status lights.

heidiho said: