New Pool - Question about TA

Mar 27, 2013
Dallas, TX
Just got a new pool put in my house and my PB says that I don't need to worry about TA right now and just to focus on pH and FC. They're telling me that the TA will level itself out. I've been doing a ton of research over the past week, and I'm starting to think that the PB is incorrect and I DO need to get my TA correct now so I'm not wasting the acid that I keep adding to the pool (a couple times a week - which I hear is normal for a new pool). That being said, I'm still a noob so I figured I'd ask you guys.

Here are the current readings as of today (using my Taylor 2006 kit) -
FC - 1.5 (0 combined)
pH - 7.6-7.7
CYA - 30ish
TA - 40-50
I'm in Dallas so the temp is 60-70 outside and the pool temp is about 50-53 degrees.

Pool Details
15k in-ground pool and spa w/ dark blue pebbletec finish
Pentair DE Filter
Pentair VS+SVRS Pump

Thanks in advance for your help!

Welcome to TFP!!!

Doh. Had a response written and lost it ... time to start over.

TA is a buffer to pH. When it is high, it will tend to make the pH rise more quickly. When it is low, the pH will swing more wildly. You are on the low side.

The pool surface will continue to make the pH rise, so you will have to add acid, but the acid will also lower your TA even more.
So I would suggest raising the TA to about 80ppm and then continue to monitor the pH ... use the poolcalculator.com to determine how much baking soda is needed to raise the TA.

Here are the levels we recommend:
pool-school/recommended_levels

Also note the with a CYA of 30ppm, you should NEVER let the FC drop below 2ppm see:
pool-school/chlorine_cya_chart_shock

So boost the FC up to 4-5ppm every day to ensure it never drops below 2ppm.

Also I did not see a CH level ... that is pretty important to watch for a new pool as well.

Got it. Thanks for the quick response.