Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Aqua Rite Control board wiring question

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    91

    Aqua Rite Control board wiring question

    I was told by Goldline that I had to replace my control board on my Aqua Rite salt Chlorine Generator. I got a new board from Leslies pools and tried replacing it myself. I followed the instructions inside, but can only get the new board to work, if I have it wired NOT like the paperwork. In all honestly I "Think" I'm on the right track..

    Meaning, the paperwork says I have to connect the yellow and orange wires to the new controller board and not use the fuse. When I do that I get nothing on the board. If I connect the yellow and orange wires back to the fuse, and not on the board the unit lights up and seems to work. I had 0 Chlorine in the pool the other day. Ran superchlorinate for the first night, then had the dial set to 80. Water was tested tonight and I have to turn the dial down so I know it's working and producing chlorine..

    Do I need to have the yellow and orange wires connected, or if it's working using the fuse can I leave it? Sorry if this is a topic already discussed. I did a pretty brief search and didn't see what I was looking for..

    Please see attached for the old board and how the new board is set up. The salt cell is a T-cell-15-SWP.
    Pool: Salt; 35, 000 - 40, 000 gallon; Pebble-tec; Spa overflows into the pool; 3 hayward pumps and one Pentair IntelliFlo VS; slide and waterfall

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,333

    Re: Aqua Rite Control board wiring question

    That looks right for a 230 volt installation. I wish I had a better wiring diagram and a service manual for those.

    Did you try replacing the current limiter before replacing the board?
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    91

    Re: Aqua Rite Control board wiring question

    I wish I looked here before hand, but no I didn't.. To add to that I wish I looked online for a new board I found some from Amazon and a couple other pool stores for half of what I paid ($400.00) from Leslies Pools... I was watching it for a couple days (maybe a week ) and it wasn't producing any chlorine, the weather is getting warmer during the day and seeing as we had a good battle with algae last year, and Goldline told me it had to be replaced I kinda panicked and bought the first one I found .... Now I know...

    Thanx I'll leave it plugged into the fuse then and let'er run... Yeah I wish there was more info on the boards too. I'm curious what the red box in the upper right corner does. I've seen other pix of boards that have 4 wires plugged into it, and I saw the other white wire next to it that was just lopped off.. Not sure if I need that too. It wasn't originally plugged in when I opened it so I left it that way. I just don't know what either of them is for.. I'll have to do some more research and trace that wire down… Maybe I'll post another question then..

    ak
    Pool: Salt; 35, 000 - 40, 000 gallon; Pebble-tec; Spa overflows into the pool; 3 hayward pumps and one Pentair IntelliFlo VS; slide and waterfall

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Mod Squad Bama Rambler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    SouthWest Alabama
    Posts
    22,333

    Re: Aqua Rite Control board wiring question

    That connector is to allow a controller to operate the unit and/or have more than one unit operating at the same time. If you don't have an automation system or slave unit you don't need those wires. Looks like it was hooked up to something at one point though.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

  5. Back To Top    #5

    In the Industry
    Pool Clown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Posts
    1,636

    Re: Aqua Rite Control board wiring question

    The black wire should be at the upper left spade on both rectifyers.
    Factory Warranty Station for:
    Jandy/Zodiac, Pentair, Sta-Rite, Raypak, Polaris,
    and Paramount pool cleaning systems.

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Orange County, CA
    Posts
    91

    Re: Aqua Rite Control board wiring question

    thanx I missed the wire.. I made the change last Friday..
    Pool: Salt; 35, 000 - 40, 000 gallon; Pebble-tec; Spa overflows into the pool; 3 hayward pumps and one Pentair IntelliFlo VS; slide and waterfall

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •