Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Liner fit issue

1. Back To Top    #1

Liner fit issue

I'm new to liner replacement and just had a contractor replace mine which is rectangle shaped. I'm not sure what radius corners he specified to the liner company, but one corner has a good fit, but the other three are taut across the corner with about a 6" x 6" x 12" triangular space from the ground up to about a foot form the top. The pool is filled up and the top of the liner is staying in the coping at the corners. The temperature is in the 40's here in Virginia. The contractor is saying after the temperature warms the liner will relax and seat properly in each corner. Right now, it just looks like the liner doesn't fit correctly. My first thought is, that he could drain the pool down and heat stretch the liner in the corners. Does anyone have experience with this? Does anyone know if liners relax this much over a 30+ degree change in temperature?
    36,000 Gallon Concrete/Vinyl Lined In-Ground/Indoor
    Sta-Rite T-240bp Sand Filter/Pump
    Atmospheric 130A Heater
    Taylor K-2006
    In Michigan's Great Southwest!

2. Back To Top    #2

In the Industry

Re: Liner fit issue

Welcome to the forum. A pic would help but it sounds like your liner will not fit. If it is 3-5"" off the wall in the corner (s), I don't think warm weather will help. The water pressure would press a correct liner tight to the wall everywhere, regardless of temp.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

3. Back To Top    #3

TFP Guide

Is it even a good idea to install when the temp is that cold? I'm no expert, of course, but it seems like it would be better to do it in warmer temperatures.
    26' X 52" Intex Ultra Frame. Intex Sand Filter
    26' X 52 Intex Ultra Frame Install
    You can lead a horse to (clear) water, but you can't force him to swim in it!

4. Back To Top    #4