Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Help! chemical levels and test reading

1. Back To Top    #1

Help! chemical levels and test reading

I have a 25,000 gallon pool and it is my first time maintaining a pool.
    A few questions,
    I have a Leslie's dpd test kit, and when im trying to test for Total Alkalinity, it says it should turn red when testing the alkalinity. But can never get it to turn red, it just turns pink..than darker pink. is my alkalinity just that high?
    And now, after doing a shock to my pool my FC level is pretty high. Here are my readings
    FC-6
    TC-6
    PH 7.3-7.4
    TA 180, that is when it turns light pink 250 when it turns pretty dark pink
    Hardness- 300
    CYA 32

I have been doing a lot of reading, but i don't know where to start. It would help if someone could point me in the right direction!

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Help! chemical levels and test reading

Welcome to TFP!!!

For most of the tests you add drops until the last drop no longer changes the color. So, you would not count the TA drop that did not change the color more pink/red.

Here are some better instructions:
    extended-test-kit-directions-t25081.html

Also, I have 2 recommendations for you. Keep reading Pool School (button at the upper right of the page) to get a better understanding of the chemistry. You should also notice realize that what the manual and the pool stores tell you about what a "high" FC level is does not take the CYA into account. For a CYA of 30 pmm (how did you get 32?), the required level of FC to perform the shock PROCESS (read Pool School as this is not what you are doing) is to maintain a FC of 12ppm. That brings me to recommendation #2:

You need to add the FAS-DPD chlorine test to have a good test kit. Your kit can not measure the FC and CC accurately enough and will not go about 5ppm. Here is a link:
    http://tftestkits.net/FAS-DPD-Chlorine- ... t-p47.html