Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Debris on top of pool - very little suction at skimmer

1. Back To Top    #1

Debris on top of pool - very little suction at skimmer

I have a 30000 gallon below ground pool. I am pretty new at this but am learning as I go. We get ALOT of very small debris on the top of the pool and when I feel on the return pipe on the skimmer, there is very little suction. The vacuum works great and is on its own return line and I am not sure about the bottom drain. At the pump, there are two return pipes and one has a turn valve. When I open it up all the way the suction at the skimmer basket returns but it is weak. Two main questions, is my pipe from the skimmer clogged? and should I open that valve all the way?

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Debris on top of pool - very little suction at skimmer

Is the return line built into the skimmer?
    I'd say open the valve all the way but I'd like to see a picture of the plumbing first.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator
    24' x 52" Round AGP. 2hp/¼hp SPL Power-Flo 2-speed pump. 200sqft Waterway Cartridge Filter. 45MHP2(3GPD) Stenner Peristaltic Pump
    Pool School ----- Pool Math ----- TF-Test Kit

3. Back To Top    #3

the pipe sits at the bottom of the basket...It is dark right now but I will take a pic and upload it tomorrow

4. Back To Top    #4

Here are the pics. Sorry for the delay. I tried flushing the line to see if it would assist in the pressure but it is still pulling slowly. Also, when I open the skimmer line, there is not enough suction for the vacuum to run properly.
    Attached Images Attached Images

5. Back To Top    #5

Looks like you have 2 suctions and 1 return. The 2 suctions are most likely the skimmer and the main drain. Can you tell which has the valve? If you shut the valve off, does the skimmer completely stop flowing or does the flow increase?
    Dave J. TFP Moderator