Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: newbie with sunscreen questions

1. Back To Top    #1

newbie with sunscreen questions

I had never given any thought to how our very liberal use of sunscreen might be a pool problem, but reading through old posts here, I see that I have been remiss. This will be my first season with a pool and I have been blessed with a daughter who has a fine Irish complexion. We live in Texas so it is 100 SPF all the time. I could cut her sunscreen back some by insisting on rash guard in the pool, but her face is extra sensitive due to acne meds. I am also pretty fair and will need quite a bit of protection. Somehow my other daughter got the magic ability to tan.

So when it comes to pools are all sunscreens created equally? Any help in working with an abundance of sunscreen in a pool?

Thank you all so much for being a resource to me while I am new at this. I want to start out doing it right from the beginning and my mean parents would never get me a pool (or for that matter a horse or a sports car) as a kid, so I am having to learn this now.
    ~18,000 gallon
    DE filter/chlorine
    IG Grey Plaster
    25 year old pool w a facelift in 2014

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: newbie with sunscreen questions

I think the less greasy the better, so the spray types would probably be best. That being said, having a little goo from sunscreen isn't a huge problem. If it doesn't bother you, don't worry about it.
    11,200 gal, Pebble-Tec; Tristar 2-speed 1hp - Swimclear 325 ft2 cart - SWG - A & A in-floor cleaner - Heat pump. For the poolside cooking, a Yoder Wichita and a Big Steel Keg!
    TF Test Kits -- PoolMath -- Pool School
    Make each day your masterpiece. - John Wooden

3. Back To Top    #3