Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Anyone install a booster pump b4?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    240

    Anyone install a booster pump b4?

    Is there a way to check if wires are 110 or 230 with a auto multimeter?

    The old pump is ancient and says on label 110/230 . New polaris booster pump that has option as 110 or 230, but not sure what voltage to wire on side of pump
    .
    25k I/G ecostar ccplus Polaris plaster

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Anyone install a booster pump b4?

    One way is to see what type of breaker the wires are coming off of.

    IF things were wired correctly, you should be able to tell based on the wire color ... but that has risk.

    230V will measure as 115 V between each line and ground and 230V between the lines. Obviously 115V should measure as 115V between the hot and ground or neutral.

    Of course if you are not familiar with the residential wiring, might want to consider hiring someone.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    240

    Re: Anyone install a booster pump b4?

    Is the breaker just the yellow on/off switch with 2 20amp round fuses... ?
    (below timer box)

    Can you tell by looking at videos? Hey Thanks again Jason!!!

    [youtube:3mmzd62q]JvDe2TcMpPM[/youtube:3mmzd62q]

    [youtube:3mmzd62q]GwHYBHqdUMc[/youtube:3mmzd62q]
    25k I/G ecostar ccplus Polaris plaster

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Anyone install a booster pump b4?

    Well I can not see it in your videos, but it sounds like you may have an old fuse subpanel at the pool equipment like I do. If the motor is run off of both of the fuses, then it is likely 230V, but it may only run off of one and the other may be for other equipment.

    You just have to measure the voltage at the motor or trace the wire paths.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    240

    Re: Anyone install a booster pump b4?

    So there are 2 20 amp fuses, what your saying is that 110volts are running through each fuse( one for booster the other for filter pump)

    Booster pump came wired 230 from factory, i think im goin to swap wires to 110 according to directions on pump label and call it a day.

    Thanks buddy!
    25k I/G ecostar ccplus Polaris plaster

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Anyone install a booster pump b4?

    No that is not what I am saying. It could be as you described. Or the pump could be running off of both the fuses and be 230v ... that is what mine does.

    I would suggest you call someone in to help you in person if possible before you burn out your new motor.

    Posted from my Droid with Tapatalk ... sorry if my response is short
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    240

    Re: Anyone install a booster pump b4?

    Im going to have someone come out...

    But if both fuses went to booster that would mean no fuses for main filter pump right?...
    25k I/G ecostar ccplus Polaris plaster

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Anyone install a booster pump b4?

    Assuming that is the only source of power in the equipment room, that is likely, but don't want damage to occur if that is not true for some reason.

    My house had some interesting DIY electrical that I have had to work to straighten out.

    Posted from my Droid with Tapatalk ... sorry if my response is short
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    240

    Re: Anyone install a booster pump b4?

    Well called 3 pool company's only 1 called back, said closest to comeout is in march.

    The pump was working then just one day didnt come on, so i had power then, just thought pump finally died...

    I get 171 volts on each of the 2 wires to filter pump, but nothing at booster pump, could the wires be damaged? *bangs head*

    [youtube:2ouqbmnp]1WaDOnf9L5A[/youtube:2ouqbmnp]
    25k I/G ecostar ccplus Polaris plaster

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •