Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Got a new IntelliFlo, installer setup to turn over 3 times?

1. Back To Top    #1

Got a new IntelliFlo, installer setup to turn over 3 times?

I had a really old single speed filter pump, and the installer set it up the new IntelliFlo I bought to turn over 3 times per day, something like 800 watts at 8 hours a day. My pool is around 25,000 gallons.

Doesn't that sound excessive, especially in the winter? I'm new to all this, but I though you generally try to shoot for turning over once per day?

Thanks

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Got a new IntelliFlo, installer setup to turn over 3 tim

Yes, that is certainly excessive, dramatically so in the winter. If your water is cold, say below 45, half a turnover per day is more than enough. Even in the summer one turnover a day is plenty and most people do well with less than that.

The IntelliFlo is most efficient when running at about 1,000 RPM. So you might want to set things up so the speed is somewhere around there, even if it means a slightly longer run time.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

3. Back To Top    #3

Quote Originally Posted by JasonLion
    Yes, that is certainly excessive, dramatically so in the winter. If you water is cold, say below 45, half a turnover per day is more than enough. Even in the summer one turnover a day is plenty and most people do well with less than that.

The IntelliFlo is most efficient when running at about 1,000 RPM. So you might want to set things up so the speed is somewhere around there, even if it means a slightly longer run time.
    Thanks for the quick reply. I'm really frustrated with the installer, instead of walking me through it to maximize my cost savings, he basically just put it on a generic setting.