Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Algae cannot grow with FC at 3

1. Back To Top    #1

In the Industry

Algae cannot grow with FC at 3

Split off of it's original topic, as it was off topic for the original post. JasonLion

I know this is an older post, but I have to take exception to the belief that algae cannot grow with FC at 3. I'm a pool service professional in South Florida which arguably is the toughest environment in the US. Algae can grow with FC at 3. I came across two pools just today with algae present and FC at 3+.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Green Algae with plenty of chlorine present

^and what was the cya? The point is that algae can and does grow at 3 ppm FC if the cya is too high from using stabilized chlorine products. Here, we review the relationship of FC to cya to arrive at the efficacy of a given FC, not the numerical value of the FC itself. For further reading, check out the cya/chlorine chart under pool school. Hope that clears it up, no pun intended
    In ground extended Grecian, 22,000 gal, Hayward 220t sand filter, vinyl liner, dolphin m4 supreme.
    If TFP has helped you, please click to SUPPORT TFP!
    Helpful Links:
    GET A TEST KIT Chlorine/CYA Chart How to SLAM About Metals & Stains

3. Back To Top    #3

Re: Algae cannot grow with FC at 3

Even with proper CYA other factors can allow algae to grow. Dead spots in circulation (ladders/steps/deep ends) or not enough turnover.
    Dan D
    Used 2003 Aqua Leader 27'x52", 17,800 w/10" hopper, SwimPro SW256T 250# sand filter, Hayward PowerFlo LX pump 1hp impellor, Emerson 1 1/2 hp motor, setup Aug 2012 Summer 2011 used Summer Escapes Ring pool 14' x 42", Intex 1600gph sand filter, HTH 6 way test kitTF-100 w/stirrer, Well water @ FC=0, PH=7.2, TA=290, CH=320

4. Back To Top    #4