Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Pool motor wiring help

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Pool motor wiring help

    I need help wiring my above ground pool motor for 110V. I have a new motor BN35v1 which is a 115/230 volt motor. The motor has numbers 1 2 3 4 5 6 where wires can be connected to them. I simply have a black wire and a white wire that I need to know which numbers they should be connected to. I also have the ground wire but I know where it is connected
    Central California-27,000 gallon in ground concrete pool-Pentair Clean and Clear 420 Cartridge Filter-Polaris Pool Sweep

  2. Back To Top    #2
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Pool motor wiring help

    Welcome to TFP!

    There should be a wiring diagram on the motor, usually a small metal plate with the diagram on it, that shows how to make the connections.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  3. Back To Top    #3
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Pool motor wiring help

    Post up a picture of the diagram if you want a second opinion on interrupting it.

    Posted from my Droid with Tapatalk ... sorry if my response is short
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Re: Pool motor wiring help

    Here is a copy of the plate on the motor.
    [attachment=0:19nzumhd]Pool motor Plate.JPG[/attachment:19nzumhd]
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Central California-27,000 gallon in ground concrete pool-Pentair Clean and Clear 420 Cartridge Filter-Polaris Pool Sweep

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Re: Pool motor wiring help

    Here is a photo of the back of the motor. I would like to know based on the wiring diagram which number on the back of the motor would I connect the black wire to and which number would I connect the white wire to. This is for 110V connection and I already know where to connect the ground wire.

    Any help would be much appreciated.
    [attachment=0:11irkxcq]Back of motor.JPG[/attachment:11irkxcq]
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Central California-27,000 gallon in ground concrete pool-Pentair Clean and Clear 420 Cartridge Filter-Polaris Pool Sweep

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Pool motor wiring help

    Hmm. I understand your confusion. Are you able to see any of the colored wires listed in the diagram? Maybe they are behind the plate?

    Posted from my Droid with Tapatalk ... sorry if my response is short
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Re: Pool motor wiring help

    I cant get to the wires behind as the plate doesn't look like its removable.
    Central California-27,000 gallon in ground concrete pool-Pentair Clean and Clear 420 Cartridge Filter-Polaris Pool Sweep

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Mod Squad zea3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    9,200

    Re: Pool motor wiring help

    I don't know if this will help or not but here is the thread where I asked for help to attach a power cord to a new pump. It shows pictures of the back of my old pump with wires still attached and the new pump and switch.
    TFP Moderator
    Helpful links: TF Test Kits,TFP Pool School, PoolMath
    Vogue 21' round AG, Pentair 1 hp 2 speed pump, 36 sq ft DE filter, Hayward S180T 150# sand filter, Houston, Texas
    Love TFP? Become a
    TFP Supporter!

  9. Back To Top    #9
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Pool motor wiring help

    You connect the black and white external power wires to 1 and 6. Either one can connect to 1 and the other to 6.

    However, there should be two other wires coming out of the motor that are supposed to be setup to tell the motor what voltage you are supplying. The internal black wire should be connected to 6, and the internal "black tr" wire should connect to 5. I don't see either of those wires in your photo, which is confusing. It is possible that they have been pushed back between the connection block and the chassis. Without those two internal wires connected correctly I don't think it will work at all.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Re: Pool motor wiring help

    Thanks everyone, I will see if I can find some wires pushed back behind or something.
    Central California-27,000 gallon in ground concrete pool-Pentair Clean and Clear 420 Cartridge Filter-Polaris Pool Sweep

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Re: Pool motor wiring help

    I encountered the same issue with no jumper wires located on the front of the wiring panel that would be used to change the supply voltage. I ended up opening the motor and discovered that the jumpers are located on the rear of the wiring panel and the motor comes preset for a 230V supply. I changed the jumper wires to 115V based on the wiring diagram on the plate on the motor and it works fine.

    Black TR ==> Moves from 3 to 5
    Black ==> Moves from 5 to 6

    If there's a simpler way to change the supply voltage, I couldn't find it anywhere else online. This solution works, but it's certainly not user friendly.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •